Monarchs Host Coastal Carolina on Saturday

November 25, 2012
By ODU Athletics
ODU Sports

Nov. 25, 2012

FCS BracketGet Acrobat Reader

NORFOLK, Va. - Old Dominion University football will host Coastal Carolina on Saturday, Dec. 1 at 2 p.m. at Foreman Field at S.B. Ballard Stadium. Coastal defeated Bethune-Cookman on Saturday 24-14 in the first round of the FCS Playoffs to advance to the second round.

Old Dominion (10-1) earned the No. 4 seed and a bye into the second round. The Monarchs finished atop the CAA with a 7-1 mark in league play.

ODU quarterback Taylor Heinicke leads the nation in passing yards, passing yards per game, total offense, points responsible for and touchdown passes. He earned CAA Offensive Player of the Year honors and first-team All-CAA accolades.

Sophomore running back Tyree Lee has a team-best 751 rushing yards and tied with Heinicke for a team-high eight rushing scores.

Nick Mayers finished the regular season with 63 catches for 980 yards and sixth in the country with 13 TD catches. He earned first-team All-CAA accolades while Antonio Vaughan earned second-team honors having 51 receptions for 673 yards and six scores.

Senior Craig Wilkins led ODU with 77 tackls, 5.5 sacks and 12.0 tackles for loss and received second-team All-CAA while Chris Burnette led all conference defensive linemen in tackles to get the nod at first-team.

Place kicker Jarod Brown and punter Jonathan Plisco earned first-team honors as well.

David Born, Jack Lowney and Dominique Guinn-Bailey earned All-CAA honors as well.

Aramis Hillary leads the Chanticleers' offense as he earned first-team All-Big South accolades, throwing for 2,313 yards and 18 touchdowns.

Matt Hazel also earned first-team honors catching 52 passes for 644 yards and six touchdowns.

Jeremy Height led the team on the ground with 832 yards and 10 TD's while Hillary rushed for 522.

Linebacker Quinn Backus was named the Big South Defensive Player of the Year making 131 tackles while Johnny Hartsfield and Quinton Davis earned first-team honors as defensive linemen.

The contests will be streamed live on ESPN3.