Heinicke Receives FCS Player of the Year Honors from Touchdown Club of Columbus

February 10, 2013
By ODU Athletics
ODU Sports

Feb. 10, 2013

COLUMBUS, OHIO - Old Dominion University sophomore quarterback Taylor Heinicke received the Touchdown Club of Columbus FCS Player of the Year Award on Saturday at the Club's annual awards banquet in downtown Columbus.

Heinicke was in select college football company on Saturday, as the TD Club of Columbus handed out awards that included Heisman Trophy Winner Johnny Manziel of Texas A&M, Kansas State quarterback Collin Klein, USC wide receiver Marqise Lee, Wisconsin running back Montee Ball and Georgia linebacker Jarvis Jones.

Heinicke became the first player in FCS history to throw for 5,000 yards, breaking Steve McNair's record of 4,863 yards he set for Alcorn State in 1994.

Heinicke won the highest honor for an FCS player this season, earning the Walter Payton Award given to the best player in the FCS. The sophomore quarterback also was named the Dudley Award Winner to the top division I player in the state of Virginia. The CAA Offensive Player of the Year received six First-Team All-America honors and was named Player of the Year by two of those publications.

A native of Atlanta, Ga., Heinicke led the FCS with 5,076 passing yards, 390.5 passing yards per game, 44 passing touchdowns and 55 total touchdowns. Along with setting the single-season passing yardage record, Heinicke also set the record for completions with 398. He surpassed Brett Gordon's record of 385 he set for Villanova in 2002.

Heinicke finished the season 398-of-579 for 5,076 yards and 44 touchdowns. He also carried 126 times for 470 yards and 11 touchdowns.