ODU Named Lambert Meadowlands Award Winner

January 10, 2013
By ODU Athletics
ODU Sports

Jan. 10, 2013

CENTERVILLE, Mass. - The Old Dominion University football team was named the winner of the Lambert Meadowlands Awards for the Football Championship Subdivision. Cincinnati was named the winner of the FCS while Indiana University of Pennsylvania was the Division II winner and Hobart was the Division III winner.

Established in 1936 as the Lambert Trophy to recognize supremacy in Eastern college football, the award has since grown to recognize the best team in the East in the Bowl Subdivision. In 1957, the Lambert Cup was created to recognize non-Division I-A teams, and in 1966 a Division III award was added. In 1983, the Lambert family decided the Meadowlands Sports Complex would be the best organization with a sincere and involved interest in college athletics to sponsor and manage the award, and since that time, the awards have been known as the Lambert Meadowlands Awards.

To be eligible for the Lambert Meadowlands Award, a school must be located in the East or play at least half of its schedule against eligible Lambert teams. The territory includes New York, New Jersey, New England and Pennsylvania, while teams in the bordering states of Delaware, Maryland, Virginia and West Virginia and the District of Columbia qualify if at least half of their schedule features eligible teams. Teams in Eastern-based football conferences, regardless of location, qualify if at least half their schedule is against Lambert eligible teams.

ODU finished the year 11-2 and ranked No. 6 in the final FCS The Sports Network Top-25 and the FCS Coaches Poll. The Monarchs finished atop the CAA going 7-1 and earned the No. 4 seed in the FCA playoffs, advancing to the quarterfinals.

Lambert Meadowlands Award Top-10
1. Old Dominion 11-1
2. Stony Brook 9-2
3. Towson 7-4
4. Richmond 9-3
5. Villanova 8-3
New Hampshire 8-3
7. Lehigh 10-1
8. Wagner 9-3
9. Colgate 8-3
10. Albany 9-2
*Results are from the regular season