Craig Wilkins Named to CFPA Linebacker Watch List

June 04, 2012
By ODU Athletics
ODU Sports

June 4, 2012

NORFOLK, Va. - Redshirt senior Craig Wilkins (Washington, D.C.) was named to the Linebacker Watch List by the College Football Performance Awards.

The purpose of the College Football Performance Awards is to provide the most scientifically rigorous conferments in college football. Recipients are selected exclusively based upon objective scientific rankings of the extent to which individual players increase the overall effectiveness of their teams.

Wilkins was a First Team All-CAA selection and was also named First Team All-State by The Roanoke Times and the Virginia Sports Information Directors Association (VaSID). A Monarch co-captain, he collected 111 tackles (58 solo, 38 assisted), becoming the first Monarch to crack the century mark in tackles, which also including 14.5 tackles for loss to lead the Monarch defense. He averaged 8.5 tackles per game ranking him 12th in the CAA.

The Monarch linebacker posted double figure stops in four games including a career-high 17 tackles against Hampton. He also made 13 tackles against Towson and 11 tackles against #10 James Madison and Richmond. Wilkins also added 3.5 sacks, a pair of interceptions, three pass break-ups, five defended passes, a fumble recovery, and a forced fumble on the 2011 season. Wilkins also blocked a James Madison field goal as time expired to preserve ODU's 23-20 win over the Dukes and the Monarchs' first win over a top-10 program.

As the 2012 season approaches, College Football Performance Awards will be releasing a preseason watch list each week from now until pre-season. For more information on the College Football Performance Awards, click here.

2012 CFPA Linebacker Watch List
• Jeremy Kimbrough, Appalachian State
• Beau Traber, Bucknell
• Jordan Ridley, Butler
• Wes Dothard, Chattanooga
• Andrae Jacobs, Coastal Carolina
• Brett Buehler, Cornell
• Paul Worrilow, Delaware
• Brandon Harvey, Delaware State
• Tyler Moorehead, Drake
• Anthony Brown, Eastern Kentucky
• Blake Thompson, Elon
• Mitch McGrath, Furman
• Robert McCabe, Georgetown
• Alexander Norman, Harvard
• Mike Tucker, Holy Cross
• Keith Pough, Howard
• Evan Frierson, Illinois State
• Aaron Archie, Indiana State
• Stephon Robertson, James Madison
• Dan Sullivan, Monmouth
• Jody Owens, Montana State
• Qua Huzzie, Murray State
• Matt Evans, New Hampshire
• Jamal Giddens, Norfolk State
• Clarence Bumpas, Northern Colorado
Craig Wilkins, Old Dominion
• Ian Sluss, Portland State
• Doug Johnson, Rhode Island
• Dave Zocco, Rhode Island
• Todd Davis, Sacramento State
• Niko Sierra, Sacred Heart
• Tyler Starr, South Dakota
• Blake Peiffer, Southeast Missouri
• Ricky Irvin, Southeastern Louisiana
• Jayson DiManche, Southern Illinois
• Ryan Epperson, Stephen F. Austin
• Marcus Edwards, Tennessee Tech
• Dante Cook, William & Mary
• Jabrel Mines, William & Mary
• Alvin Scioneaux, Wofford