Monarchs To Compete in NCAA East Region

May 07, 2007
By ODU Athletics
ODU Sports

May 7, 2007

NORFOLK, VA-- The Old Dominion University men's golf squad who earned the automatic bid for the NCAA tournament will compete in the East Region at the Golf Club of Georgia in Alpharetta, GA, May 17-19. The tournament Host will be 5th seed Georgia Tech. ODU is the 18th seed. There are three regions of 27 teams each as well as six individuals. The University of Georgia is the top seed in this regional.

The Monarchs captured the CAA championship back on April 15th, their second. The first league title was in 2003. This is also the squads second NCAA tournament appearance.

Ten teams and two individuals will advance from each region to the Championship finals to be hosted by Virginia Commonwealth, May 30-June 2 at Golden Horsehoe Golf Club in Williamsburg, VA.

CAA Coach of the Year Murray Rudisill's Monarchs are led by CAA Rookie of the Year, freshman Eric Onesi (Bear, DE), CAA Tournament Champion, freshman John Murphy (Wilton,CT.), first team All-CAA selection Stan Guerrero (Mexico), Matthew Watson (Chesapeake, VA.) who placed ninth at the CAA Championships, freshman Matt Rendell (Reading, England), along with Brandon Detwiler (Akron,PA. ) and Jeff Long (Centreville, VA.).

Onesi finished second at the CAA Championships, while Murphy was named CAA Tournament Most Outstanding Player. During the season, ODU finished fifth or better in eight tournaments and had top ten finishes in all 11. The Monarchs won William and Mary's Joe Agee tournament and the CAA title.

The Golf Club of Georgia- Alpharetta, Georgia
Hosted by Georgia Institute of Technology
Teams (seeded in the following order):
1. Georgia
2. Clemson
3. Florida
4. Coastal Carolina (Big South Conference)
5. Georgia Tech (Atlantic Coast Conference)
6. Georgia State
7. Charlotte (Atlantic 10 Conference)
8. North Carolina
9. Florida State
10. Duke
11. Auburn
12. Mississippi
13. Chattanooga (Southern Conference)
14. Alabama-Birmingham
15. UCF
16. Virginia Tech
17. Penn State
18. Old Dominion (Colonial Athletic Association)
19. Jacksonville State (Ohio Valley Conference)
20. Louisiana-Lafayette (Sun Belt Conference)
21. St. John's (New York)
22. Eastern Michigan (Mid-American Conference)
23. Maryland
24. Longwood
25. Rhode Island
26. Hartford
27. Boston College