Wrestling Monarchs Host VMI Tomorrow In Last Home Dual

February 15, 2006
By ODU Athletics
ODU Sports

Feb. 15, 2006

NORFOLK, VA - Old Dominion Wrestling will host the VMI Keydets tomorrow at the ODU Fieldhouse at 7:00pm. The match marks the team's final home dual match of their 2005-06 campaign. Four seniors Robby Gosnell, Adam Wright, John Dolida, and TJ Hansen will be honored at the event.

Thursday's match will highlight rematches from several tournaments including the Southern Scuffle and Virginia Intercollegiates. At 133 pounds, Ryan Williams will be looking to avenge his 3-7 loss to Brandon Stillo at the Penn State Open. Look for senior Adam Wright to rematch Neils Madsen, the two met earlier this year at the Southern Scuffle and the Virginia Intercollegiates.

Nick Pullano will rematch Tommy Cunningham at 157 pounds after beating him 4-2 at the Intercollegiates in the championship final bout. David Mendoza has a chance to rematch Corry Murray who he fell to by a 3-7 decision at the intercollegiates. Lastly, John Dolida will take on Scott Buhman who majored him back at the intercollegiates by a score of 2-11.

The Monarchs last weekend beat conference opponents Campbell (39-9) and George Mason (34-14). They are 9-4 all-time against the Keydets. Last season the Monarchs traveled to Lexington, Virginia, and beat the Keydets 27-11.

VMI has not yet been able to beat a Southern Conference opponent this season. They enter Thursday's competition with a 1-8-1 record, 0-2-1 in the SoCon. VMI comes off a loss last weekend to conference foes Chattanooga by a score of 32-6.

ODU Wrestling invites all student organizations to come out and participate in the spirit contest. The organization with the loudest attendance will be awarded $250 courtesy of Old Dominion Wrestling. The winner will be announced after the last bout of the night.

Thursday's Probables

          VMI                   ODU
125       Lam Ly                Bryan LaShomb (19-13)
133       Brandon Stillo        Ryan Williams (24-12)
141       David Metzler         BJ Compton (6-11)
149       Sam Alvarenga         Jeff Becker (7-14)
157       Tommy Conningham      Nick Pullano (14-16)
165       Chris Hardy           Robby Gosnell (20-10)
174       Dustin McCabe         TJ Hansen (6-5)
184       Corry Murray or       David Mendoza (12-10)
          Kyle Elgert
197       TBA                   #17 Adam Wright (27-4)
285       Scott Buhman          John Dolida (9-21