Monarch Maniacs
Soccer Voucher Books 2014
Football Style Guide 2014
Taylor's Tally
Stihl Soccer Classic 2014 Above Header
Tickets for Troops
College Colors Day

Emma Gilmore Q & A by Donnell Coley

Courtesy: ODU Athletics
         
Release: April 11, 2011
Send this article to a friend Print RSS
Article Image

April 11, 2011

Emma Gilmore Q&A by Donnell Coley, Sports Information Student Intern.

Q: What made you come play for ODU? A: I had a friend, Laura Holmes, who was a senior here. We grew up playing golf together so I wanted to go somewhere I had a friendly face to play with everyday. The practice facilities are some of the best I've ever seen.

Q: What are the differences in playing here and Ireland? A: At ODU we get to play five or six tournaments a semester and back home there is really no intercollegiate athletics. I was going to find it hard to keep playing competitively back in Ireland.

Q: What other differences are there? A: I'm from a really small community of 500 people where everybody knows each other. Then you come over here and you don't really know your neighbors. The weather over here is a bit nicer.

Q: What challenges do you have being an international student? A: Home sickness is going to happen. The fact that I come over here and suddenly have seven friends before I even step on campus helped. The friendships you make on the team make it a lot easier.

Q: Who is the biggest influence on your career? A: Probably my dad. When I was five I would start caddying for him. He always had me out on the golf course with a putter in my hand. He came over my freshman year to see a tournament, then he came over last year for conference play which was definitely nice.

Q: As a senior, what new knowledge or advantage do you have? A: I'm trying to show the younger girls how to practice harder and focus when you need to focus. That is the best thing I have learned.

Q: What is the best part of your game, why? A: I hit pretty far. I know they say 'drive for show putt for dough' but that's me. I like to drive the ball.

Q: What are your feelings about the season so far? A: Really good. I think its the best season I've had since I been at ODU. I got my first under par round, and first time first place finish in a tournament. Waiting to collect a team trophy is the best feeling.

Q: What do you want to improve on for the rest of the year? A: I think its the mental game. We know we work as hard as everybody else, but we need to know we are as good as everybody so that we can perform at our best.

Q: What are your goals for the rest of the season? A: My number one goal is that the team wins the conference (CAA). Focusing a lot more is also part of this.

Q: What is your major and what are your goals after graduation? A: Sports Management. I'm about to do an internship where I will be an assistant at a golf course in Richmond. I would like to be a teaching pro and work with lady members. I think there is a big gap for lady professional teachers.

Q: What hobbies do you have? A: I listen to music. I just started listening to country music, we don't have that in Ireland. I also like crosswords and like to read.

Q: Who is your favorite golfer? A: Padraig Harrington. He's kind of the epitome of what you want to do. He didn't turn pro at a young age. He got his degree and took the pro tour. I actually got an opportunity to get a lesson from him when I was in Ireland while I was younger.

SIGN UP FOR
E-MAIL UPDATES

Soccer Voucher Books 2014
Stihl Soccer Classic 2014 Ad Belt
College Colors Day
Style Guide 2014
Tickets the Troops
ODAF Donor Spotlight
Monarch Media