Men's Tennis Wins Third Straight

January 31, 2004
By ODU Athletics
ODU Sports

Jan. 31, 2004

NEWPORT NEWS, VA -- The Old Dominion University men's tennis team improved to 3-0 on the dual meet season as they blanked their third straight opponent with a 7-0 victory over UNC-Greensboro. The squad is ranked 75th in the country according to the latest ITA Polls' released this week.

Junior Izak van der Merwe (Kempton Park, South Africa) and senior Niklas Oskarsson (Halmsted, Sweden) teamed up to get Old Dominion rolling in doubles action with an 8-5 win at No. 1 doubles over Vissner and Moran. Senior Zoltan Csanadi (Timisoara, Romania) and sophomore Adriano Mello (Londrina, Brazil) went on to capture the doubles point for the Monarchs with an 8-5 win over Ladoceur and Magnune at No. 2 doubles. Senior Calin Milos (Timisoara, Romania) and newcomer Nate Grover (Suffolk, VA) completed the sweep at doubles with a No. 3 doubles win, 8-2, against Levy and Steihorn.

The Monarch singles players all collected straight set wins. Van der Merwe downed Greg Levy at No. 1 singles, 6-0, 6-4, while Csanadi edged out Pieter Vissner, 6-4, 6-0, at No. 2 singles. At No. 3 singles, Milos earned a 6-1, 6-1 victory over Julio Moran while classmate Oskarrson picked up a 6-2, 6-2 victory over Marc Ladoceur at No. 4 singles. Rounding out singles play, Mello recorded a No. 5 singles win over Chris Magnune, 6-2, 6-0, and Grover collected a 6-1, 6-1 win at No. 6 singles over Bustamonte.

The men's tennis team will return to action against Richmond at the indoor courts at Center Court Racket Club in Newport News on Friday, February 6th.

Men's Tennis: Old Dominion 7 UNC-Greensboro 0
(Friday, January 30, 2004 at Centre Court Racquet Club)

1. Van Der Merve / Oskarsson (ODU) d. Visser/Moran (UNCG) 8-5
2. Csanadi/Mello (ODU) d. Ladoceur/Magnune (UNCG) 8-5
3. Milos/Grover (ODU) d. Levy/Steinhorn (UNCG 8-2

Singles: 1.Izak Van Der Merve (0DU) d. Greg Levy (UNCG) 6-0, 6-4
2. Zoltan Csanadi (ODU) d. Pieter Visser (UNCG) 6-4, 6-0
3. Calin Milos (ODU) d. Julio Moran (UNCG) 6-1,6-1
4. Niklas Oskarrson (ODU) d. Marc Ladoceur (UNCG) 6-2, 6-2
5. Adriano Mello (ODU) d. Chris Magnune (UNCG) 6-2, 6-0
6. Nate Grover (ODU) d. Bustamonte (UNCG) 6-1, 6-1