David Mendoza Ranked in Five Preseason Polls

October 24, 2007
By ODU Athletics
ODU Sports

Oct. 24, 2007

NORFOLK, Va. -- TheWrestlingMall.com released its preseason rankings today and ODU junior David Mendoza made it a clean sweep of all four major polls. He is ranked 17th in the most recent poll, adding to his two 16th and one 20th place ranking in the three other major polls. Redshirt sophomore Chris Brown joins Mendoza in the rankings at 165 lbs, ranking 18th overall.

Mendoza, a junior from Wyomissing, Pennsylvania, went 32-12 last season with a team high 12 pins. He qualified for the NCAA Tournament with a second place finish at the CAA Tournament. He was 7-2 in CAA Duals and 19-4 in tournament action a year ago. The ranking of 17th in the nation is his fifth preseason ranking this season, in addition to 16th by Amateur Wrestling News, 16th by Intermat, 18th by wrestlingreport.com and 20th by W.I.N. Magazine.

Brown, a redshirt sophomore from Chesapeake, Virginia, led the team in wins a year ago, going 35-14 on the season. He also led the team in major decisions with 13 and was 14-5 in dual competition. Brown will move up a weight class this season, to the 165-lb. weight class and is ranked 18th by TheWrestlingMall.com. He was also ranked 19th by Amateur Wrestling News and 20th by wrestlingreport.com.

Brown and Mendoza are both ranked 1st in the CAA in their respective weight class.

TheWrestlingMall.com Preseason Rankings:

165 1. Mark Perry-Iowa 2. Eric Tannenbaum-Michigan 3. Pat Pitsch-Arizona State 4. Matt Coughlin-Indiana 5. Steve Anceravage-Cornell 6. Moza Fay-Northern Iowa 7. Tyler Safratowich-Minnesota 8. Roger Smith-Bergsrud-Illinois 9. Mike Cannon-American 10. Dustin Noack-Cal-Davis 11. Andrew Rendos-Bucknell 12. Nick Marable-Missouri 13. Stephen Dwyer-Nebraska 14. Jonathan Reader-Iowa State 15. Zach Shanaman-Penn 16. Max Dean-Oklahoma 17. David Rella-Penn State 18. Chris Brown-Old Dominion 19. Jake Dieffenbach-Oklahoma State 20. Trevor Stewart-Central Michigan

197 1. Josh Glenn-American 2. Phil Davis-Penn State 3. Mike Tamillow-Northwestern 4. Max Askren-Missouri 5. Craig Brester-Nebraska 6. Wynn Michalak-Central Michigan 7. Dallas Herbst-Wisconsin 8. Joel Flaggert-Oklahoma 9. Hudson Taylor-Maryland 10. Patrick Bond-Illinois 11. T.J. Morrison-Rider 12. Jared Villers-West Virginia 13. Joe Rovelli-Hofstra 14. Daren Burns-UNC-Greensboro 15. Matt Koz-Chattanooga 16. Brandon Halsey-Cal-Bakersfield 17. David Mendoza-Old Dominion 18. Arturo Basulto-Cal Poly 19. Andrew Anderson-Northern Iowa 20. Brent Jones-Virginia