Men's Golfer Sam Wall Q & A

April 11, 2011
By ODU Athletics
ODU Sports

April 11, 2011

Sam Wall Q&A by Donnell Coley, Sports Information Student Intern.

Q: What about ODU attracted you? A: The new facilities were amazing and much better than anything back home in England. The coaches were great. It is a nice town and there is a lot of different stuff to do here.

Q: What differences are there between playing in the U.S. versus playing in England?

A: The level of competition is greater in the U.S. I get a chance to play some of the toughest courses in the world. We just finished playing professional courses like Sawgrass and Pinehurst. The opportunity is better in the U.S. and it is the best place to get better as a golfer.

Q: What type of challenges do you have to overcome as an international student?

A: Not being able to see family and friends is probably the hardest thing. I also miss watching futbol (soccer).

Q: What tips would you give future international students in your position?

A: Just have fun. I do a lot of activities. Go do things like surfing and snowing boarding.

Q: Who has been the biggest influence on your career so far, why?

A: I would probably say my dad and my golf coach from back home David Woods. My dad got me started with golf when I was 13 after I got hurt playing soccer. Coach Woods has helped me meet other coaches here in the U.S. and he is one of the reasons why I am at ODU.

Q: As a senior, what knowledge or experience do you have that you didn't before?

A: I think I preparation is one thing I've learned. You have to get enough sleep and eat the right things to prepare for the matches. Adapting to each course, knowing the course thoroughly has helped me a lot. The mental game is very important. College golf is very slow and you have to have patience to get through the five hours of each round.

Q: What is the best part of your game, why?

A: I would say ball striking and distance. I like to drive the ball. I think this improved in part because of the strength and conditioning I have gone through while playing here.

Q: What are your feelings about this season so far?

A: I think I would grade it a 'B'. I have not put a good tournament together yet this season. I would have two good rounds and one bad round.

Q: What do you need to improve on for the rest of the season?

A: Putting is the most important thing I have to improve. I have to keep it simple in order to get better. I can't let my mind over think putts.

Q: What are the goals for this season?

A: I want to make the All-conference (CAA) team and want the team to be in contention for a CAA championship. And I just want to focus on putting three solid rounds together

Q: What is your major and what are your career goals after you graduate?

A: My major is sports management. I want to go to graduate school for physical therapy after I get my bachelor's degree. While I am going to graduate school I want to play in top amateur competitions. Then I will have to see what happens after that whether I decide to try the professional tour or not.

Q: What are your hobbies?

A: I love soccer and all sports really.

Q: Favorite TV show?

A: I like Two and Half Men right now.

Q: Who is your favorite professional golfer?

A: I think I would say Lee Westwood or Paul Casey. They are from my country and they both have similar swings to mine.