Monarch Men's Tennis Defeats UNC-Wilmington, 6-1

April 07, 2002
By ODU Athletics
ODU Sports

April 7, 2002

NORFOLK, VA -- The Old Dominion men's tennis team improved its record to 11-6 and earned its first conference victory of the year with a 6-1 victory over Colonial Athletic Association (CAA) rival UNC-Wilmington. The Monarchs picked up wins in five of the six singles matches, including a 6-0, 6-0 victory at first singles by sophomore Zoltan Csanadi (Timisoara, Romania).

Rookie Izak Van der Merwe (Kempton Park, South Africa) earned a 6-3, 7-6 win at second singles over Mauricio Cabrini, while sophomore Calin Milos (Timisoara, Romania) edged out the Seahawk's Lee Bailey, 6-4, 7-5 at third singles. Junior Salman Mohammed (Calcutta, India) needed three sets to put away UNC-Wilmington's Vitaliy Pereverzev at fourth singles, 6-3, 3-6, 6-4. Freshman Johan van Rooyen (Pretoria, South Africa), with a 2-6, 4-6 loss at fifth singles to Josh Franceschina, dropped the lone Old Dominion singles match of the afternoon. Sophomore Niklas Oskarsson (Halmstad, Sweden) finished up the singles competition with a straight set victory, 6-2, 6-4, over Wilmington's Scott Curry.

In doubles action, the Monarchs earned wins at both first and third doubles. The tandem of Csanadi/van der Merwe at first doubles picked up a 8-1 win over Mendes/Bailey, while teammates Milos/Oskarsson earned a 8-3 victory over Carbini/Pereverzev at third doubles. The Seahawk duo of Curry/Franceschina defeated Old Dominion's team of Mohammed/van Rooyen at second doubles, 9-7.

The Old Dominion men's tennis team will resume action on Tuesday in Harrisonburg, VA against James Madison.

Old Dominion 6     North Carolina Wilmington 1

Singles: 1. Csanadi (ODU) d. Mendes (UNCW) 6-0,6-0 2. van der Merwe (ODU) d. Cabrini (UNCW) 6-3,7-6 3. Milos (ODU) d. Bailey (UNCW) 6-4,7-5 4. Mohammed (ODU) d. Pereverzev (UNCW) 6-3,3-6,6-4 5. Franceschina (UNCW) d. van Rooyen (ODU) 6-2,6-4 6. Oskarsson (ODU) d. Curry (UNCW) 6-2,6-4

Doubles: 1. Csanadi/van der Merwe (ODU) d. Mendes/Bailey (UNCW) 8-1 2. Curry/Franceschina (UNCW) d. Mohammed/van Rooyen (ODU) 9-7 3. Milos/Oskarsson (ODU) d. Cabrini/Pereverzev (UNCW) 8-3