Nicholson Finishes in Eighth Place at NCAA Championships

March 19, 2011
By ODU Athletics
ODU Sports

March 19, 2011

Photo Gallery 

Final BracketGet Acrobat Reader

PHILADELPHIA, Pa. - James Nicholson dropped a 3-2 decision to No. 8 Jarrod Patterson of Oklahoma to finish in eighth place at the NCAA Wrestling Championships.

Nicholson delivered the only takedown of the match in the first period as he was able to get Patterson down on the edge of the mat. Patterson was able to escape five second later to cut the lead to 2-1. Patterson started the second period on the bottom and escaped in six seconds to tie the score at two apiece. Neither wrestler was able to do anything the rest of the period. Nicholson started the third period on the bottom but was unable to escape, earning Patterson the riding time point. Nicholson was able to get to his feet, but Patterson held on for the 3-2 decision.

Nicholson finishes his tremendous career with 138 wins, tying Chris Brown for the most wins in school history. He ends the season with a 35-3 record and became ODU's first two-time All-American since Buddy Lee in 1980 and 1982.

"We are very proud of James Nicholson's performance at the NCAA tournament," ODU head coach Steve Martin said. "James showed a lot of heart after his chances to be an NCAA Champ ended on Thursday night. Most athletes would not of been able to battle back and get on the podium. James has helped put Old Dominion Wrestling on the map, we are also proud of the fact that for the fourth year in a row we have placed athletes on the podium at the National Tournament."

March 19, 2011
Seventh Place Match
125 - No. 8 Jarrod Patterson (OU) dec. No. 4 James Nicholson (ODU) 3-2

March 18, 2011
Wrestleback Second Round
125 - No. 4 James Nicholson (ODU) dec. No. 10 Alan Waters (Mizz) 8-3
133 - No. 12 Kyle Hutter (ODU) dec. Nathan McCormick (Mizz) 8-4

Wrestleback Third Round
125 - No. 4 James Nicholson (ODU) dec. No. 14 Jarrod Garnett (VT) 10-4
133 - No. 10 Rollie Peterkin (Penn) SV No. 12 Kyle Hutter (ODU) 4-2

Wrestleback Fourth Round
125 - No. 4 James Nicholson (ODU) dec. No. 6 Nicholas Bedelyon (Kent State) 5-3

Wrestleback Fifth Round
125 - No. 7 Ryan Mango (Stan) dec. No. 4 James Nicholson (ODU) 7-5

March 17, 2011
First Round
125 - No. 4 James Nicholson (ODU) Fall Tyler Iwamura (CSUB) 3:49
133 - No. 12 Kyle Hutter (ODU) SV No. 19 Zac Stevens (Michigan) 3-1
149 - No. 3 Kevin LeValley (BUCK) MD Joey Metzler (ODU) 10-2

Second Round
125 - No. 13 Ben Kjar (UVSU) dec. No. 4 James Nicholson (ODU) 2-1
133 - No. 5 Lou Rugirello (HU) dec. No. 12 Kyle Hutter (ODU) 5-1

Wrestleback First Round
149 - No. 19 Cole Dallaserra (Wyoming) Fall Joey Metzler (ODU) 1:55