Golfers Headed West For NCAA Regionals

May 05, 2003
By ODU Athletics
ODU Sports

May 5, 2003

Washington Hosts Regional | Live Scoring

NORFOLK, VA - The 2003 Colonial Athletic Association Golf Champion Old Dominion University Monarchs will be competing in their first ever NCAA Golf Tournament, May 15-17, at the Washington National Golf Course, in Seattle, released today by the NCAA. This is the home course of the University of Washington.

A total of 27 teams and six individuals from across the country have qualified for the West Regional. Play format is 54 holes of stroke play over three days of competition. Teams participating in the NCAA regionals shal consist of a maximum of five players (with four scores counting each day toward the team total).

The Monarchs who captured the CAA Championship back on May 31st will be led by CAA individual champion Geoffrey Harris (Reading, England). Harris is one of five finalist for the Byron Nelson Award. The 2003 Old Dominion University Male Scholar Athlete of the Year has a 71.55 scoring average (best in ODU history) which ranks him 26th nationally. He is currently ranked 51st nationally and second in the district by the Sagarin power ratings. Harris won two tournaments this year, placed fourth or better six times and had ten top ten finishes in 12 outings.

Teammates Chris Kline (Hampton, VA.), Chris Piercy (Reading, England) and Nick Kenney (Toronto, Canada) also had outstanding seasons. Kline took fourth at the arolina First Tournament. Piercy was third at the ODU Seascape and ninth at the Mission Collegiate. Kenney placed fifth at the Mission Collegiate and ninth at the Bradford Collegiate.

As a team, the Monarchs won two tournaments, and had eight top five finishes in 12 events under the direction of head coach Dr. Murray Rudisill who is in his 28th season. The last Monarch to compete in the NCAA's was Jon Hurst in 1991. He took sixth in the East Regionals and then advanced to the National Championships where he earned All-American honors.

Should the Monarchs advance, the NCAA National Championships will be at the Karsten Creek Golf Course in Stillwater, OK, hosted by Oklahoma State, May 27-30. The 10 low teams and the two low individuals not on those teams from each NCAA regional advance to the National Championships.

Team Seeds
3. Arizona
4. Georgia
5. Arizona State
6. Washington
7. New Mexico
8. Southern Cal.
9. Pepperdine
10. San Diego State
11. California
12. Fresno State
13. Cal-Irvine
14. Brigham Young
15. Colorado State
16. UTEP
17. Denver
18. Oregon
19. Austin Peay
20. Stanford
21 Oregon State
22. Old Dominion
23. Xavier
24. Oral Roberts
25. Navy
26. Central Conn.
27. Loyola

Individual qualifiers are: Matt Hansen (Pacific), Brendan Steele (Cal Riverside), Travis Bertoni(Cal Poly), Issac Weintraub(San Jose St.), Pete Sisich(Cal Northridge), and Graham DeLaet (Bosie State).