Lieberman and Stanley to Be Honored in Tuesday Night's National Title Game in New Orleans

April 09, 2013
By ODU Athletics
ODU Sports

April 9, 2013

NEW ORLEANS, La. – Former Old Dominion University women’s basketball standouts and Women’s Basketball Hall of Fame inductees Marianne Stanley will be honored at halftime of Tuesday night’s NCAA national championship game at New Orleans Arena as pioneers of the Association for Intercollegiate Athletics for Women (AIAW).

Among the honorees are administrators who took the game to new heights under the AIAW, which governed women’s collegiate sports before the NCAA began sponsoring championships in 1981-82.

Anucha Browne, NCAA vice president of women’s basketball championships, believes the names of the honorees will resonate with people familiar with the sport. Browne also said a city like New Orleans, which is known for its celebratory nature, is the appropriate place to commemorate their accomplishments.

“This is the perfect time to celebrate the players, coaches and administrators from the AIAW who helped establish the foundation for collegiate women’s basketball,” Browne said. “Their achievements at that time were remarkable and opened the door to what we have to today, with the Women’s Final Four growing into the marquee women’s sporting event in America.”

Lieberman was the first two-time winner of the Wade Trophy, finishing her career with 2,430 points, 1,167 rebounds, 961 assists and 562 steals. She led ODU to back-to-back AIAW national championships in 1978-89 and 1979-80 while amassing an astounding record of 72-2 in those two seasons. The three-time Kodak All-American remains Old Dominion University's leader in career assists while standing second in all-time steals.

Stanley led ODU to an incredible record of 268-59 (.820) in her first 10 years at the helm of the Lady Monarchs basketball program as they captured three national championships. In her 21-year coaching career at ODU, her teams won 30 or more games four times and enjoyed eight seasons of 20 or more wins. The Lady Monarchs won the AIAW national titles in 1978-79 with a 35-1 record and again in 1979-80 when ODU rolled to a 37-1 mark. In 1985, the Lady Monarchs defeated Georgia, 70-65, for the NCAA national championship crown. 

Both women are members of the Old Dominion Hall of Fame while Lieberman has also been inducted into the Naismith Hall of Fame. Today, Stanley is an assistant coach for the WNBA’s Washington Mystics. Lieberman currently serves as Assistant General Manager to the Texas Legends, the NBA Development team for the Dallas Mavericks while also serving as an analyst for Fox Sports Oklahoma and the Oklahoma City Thunder pre-game and post-game shows.

Honorees to be recognized at the Women’s Final Four


  • Carol Blazejowski (Montclair State) – Led the nation in scoring at 33.5 points per game in 1976-77 and 38.6 points in 1977-78.
  • Debbie Brock (Delta State) – Starting point guard for Delta State teams that won AIAW national titles in 1975, 1976 and 1977.
  • Denise Curry (UCLA) – Set 14 school records, including being the Bruins’ career leading scorer (3,198) and rebounder (1,310).
  • Ann Meyers Drysdale (UCLA) – First female to receive a basketball athletics scholarship at UCLA and recorded the first quadruple-double in Division I basketball with 20 points, 14 rebounds, 10 assists and 10 steals during a game in her senior season of 1977-78.
  • Suzie Snider Eppers (Baylor) – Holds the school record for points 3,861 and rebounds 2,176.
  • Pamela Kelly-Flowers (Louisiana Tech) – Led the program to two AIAW national titles and was the Wade Trophy (national player of the year) recipient in 1982.
  • Lusia Harris (Delta State) – Averaged 25.9 points and 14.5 rebounds per game while leading Delta State to three straight AIAW national titles (1975-77).
  • Nancy Lieberman (Old Dominion) – First two-time winner of the Wade Trophy, finishing her career with 2,430 points, 1,167 rebounds, 961 assists and 562 steals.
  • Pearl Moore (Francis Marion) – Scored 4,061 points in her career and had a 60-point game during her junior season.
  • Lynette Woodard (Kansas) – Scored 3,649 career points and went on to become the first female member of the Harlem Globetrotters.

Players/head coaches

  • Theresa Shank Grentz – Won AIAW national titles as a player at Immaculata and as a coach at Rutgers; sported a career coaching record of 671-309.
  • Marianne Stanley – First person to win AIAW national titles as a player at Immaculata and as a coach at Old Dominion; recruited Anne Donovan to Old Dominion and Lisa Leslie to Southern California.

Head coaches

  • Carol Eckman – Considered the “mother of collegiate women’s basketball” for establishing the first women’s national championship in 1969; coached West Chester from 1969-72.
  • Lily Margaret Wade – The namesake of the Wade Trophy guided Delta State to three straight national titles (1975-77).
  • Sonja Hogg – Coached Louisiana Tech to a 34-0 record en route to the 1981 AIAW championship; also coached the Lady Techsters to the first NCAA championship in 1982.
  • Billie Moore – First women’s coach to win national titles at two schools (Cal State Fullerton in 1970 and UCLA in 1978).
  • Cathy Rush – Won three consecutive AIAW titles (1972-74) and was 149-15 as Immaculata’s coach.


  • Christine Grant – Founding member of the AIAW; Iowa’s first women’s athletics director in 1973; testified before Congress several times on behalf of gender equity.
  • Judie Holland – Selected to start UCLA’s women’s athletics program after the passage of Title IX; developed women’s athletics at UCLA into a multi-million dollar enterprise.
  • Donna Lopiano – Past president of the AIAW who as women’s AD at Texas grew the budget there from $57,000 in 1975 to nearly $3 million by 1987.
  • Judy Sweet – In 1975 became the first female athletics director to lead a combined men’s and women’s athletics department at UC San Diego; first female to serve as president of the NCAA (1991-93).
  • Charlotte West – Former president of AIAW who worked 42 years at Southern Illinois as a coach, instructor, professor and administrator; consultant for the Department of Health, Education and Welfare during the 1970s after Title IX.