Ryan Williams & Chris Brown Lead Way For Wrestling Team

November 30, 2007
By ODU Athletics
ODU Sports

Nov. 30, 2007

Day One Brackets Get Acrobat Reader

Las Vegas, Nev. -- Nationally ranked grapplers Chris Brown (165) and Ryan Williams (141) led the way for ODU on the first day of the 26th Annual Cliff Keen Las Vegas Invitational Tournament. No. 11 Brown and No. 17 Williams are still in contention for the title in one of the most respected tournaments of the season. Also for the Monarchs, redshirt sophomore Kaylen Baxter (149) won four bouts on the first day. Wrestling will resume Saturday morning with the championship finals beginning at 5:00 pm.

Brown, the highest ranked Monarch after an upset over defending national champion Mark Perry (Iowa) a week ago, continued his hot streak, winning his firs two bouts of the tournament. He defeated South Dakota State's Ryan Meyer by major decision, 10-2, in the pigtails and he earned a default victory in the first round of the championship bracket.

Williams' continued his remarkable consistency, winning his first two bouts by decision. He toppled Adam Everson (South Dakota State), 7-3, in the first round and Cory Jantzen (Harvard), 9-3, in the second. He bumps his season record to 13-2 with the victories.

Three other Monarchs are still alive at the tourney heading into day two.

Kyle Hutter (133) was pinned in the Round of 32 by Nebraska's Kenny Jordan, but stormed through the first three rounds of the wrestlebacks with two major decisions and a victory over conference rival Zach Cunliffe (Rider).

Kaylen Baxter (149) won a team-high four bouts on the day, tying the team lead in season wins with 14. He dropped Andrew Saunders (UNC Greensboro) by major decision, 14-6, in the pigtails before dropping a 1-6 decision to the number four 149-pounder in the nation, Ohio State's Lance Palmer. He then dropped Arizona State's Jarred Trulson by major decision, 19-7, pinned Embry-Riddle's Max Mocalis just four seconds into the second period and then dropped the number 12 149-pounder, Jake Patascil (Purdue) by default.

Jesse Strawn will also continue wrestling on day two, at 184 lbs. He won two bouts in the championship bracket before getting bounced by top ten grappler Trevor Brandvold of Wisconsin in a tight 2-5 decision. He won a third in the wrestlebacks over Edinboro's Daniel Thompson in a one point decision, 6-5.

Several other Monarchs earned victories at the tournament, but saw their weekend end early due to tough matchups. James Nicholson (125) had to face the number 19 wrestler in the wrestlebacks and lost by decision to Arizona State's Anthony Robles, Nick Pullano (174) dropped a 2-5 decision to Eric Decker (VT) in the championship bracket, and David Mendoza found himself the unluckiest Monarch, drawing both number 17 Pat Bradshaw (Edinboro) and number 12 Daren Burns (UNC Greensboro) in back-to-back bouts.

The Monarchs return to the mat tomorrow in Las Vegas with a chance to place five at the respected Cliff Keen Invitational. Others on the ODU team will travel to Pennsylvania for the Penn State Open tomorrow.

Results after Day One of Cliff Keen Las Vegas Invitational:

Brandon Zoetewey (Cal St. Bakersfield) def. James Nicholson (ODU) by decision, 9-3
James Nicholson (ODU) def. Drew Forshey (UNC) by decision, 6-4
Anthony Robles (Arizona State) def. James Nicholson (ODU) by decision, 8-3

Kenny Jordan (Nebraska) pinned Kyle Hutter (ODU), 3:51
Kyle Hutter (ODU) def. Kevin Mitchell (North Idaho) by major decision, 17-3
Kyle Hutter (ODU) def. Jon Gerhold (Missouri Valley) by major decision, 11-0
Kyle Hutter (ODU) def. Zach Cunliffe (Rider) by decision, 4-3

Ryan Williams (ODU) def. Adam Everson (South Dakota State) by decision, 7-3
Ryan Williams (ODU) def. Cory Jantzen (Harvard) by decision, 9-3

Kaylen Baxter (ODU) def. Andrew Saunders (UNC Greensboro) by major decision, 14-6
Lance Palmer (Ohio State) def. Kaylen Baxter (ODU) by decision, 6-1
Kaylen Baxter (ODU) def. Jarrad Trulson (Arizona State) by major decision, 19-7
Kaylen Baxter (ODU) pinned Max Mocalis (Embry-Riddle), 3:04
Kaylen Baxter (ODU) def. Jake Patacsil (Purdue) by default

Noomis Jones (Adams State) def. Dan Rivera (ODU) by decision, 6-5
Lucas Chesher (North Idaho) def. Dan Rivera (ODU) by decision, 3-2

Chris Brown (ODU) def. Ryan Meyer (South Dakota State) by major decision, 10-2
Chris Brown (ODU) def. Jon Brascetta (Oregon State) by default

Nick Pullano (ODU) def. Frankie Colletta (Harvard) by major decision, 13-2
Eric Decker (VT) def. Nick Pullano (ODU) by decision, 5-2
Tyler Bernacchi (California-Davis) def. Nick Pullano (ODU) by major decision, 13-3

Jesse Strawn (ODU) def. Jake Crawford (Arizona State) by major decision, 11-1
Jesse Strawn (ODU) def. David Gleissner (Illinois) by decision, 6-2
Trevor Brandvold (Wisconsin) def. Jesse Strawn (ODU) by decision 5-2
Jesse Strawn (ODU) def. Daniel Thompson (Edinboro) by decision, 6-5

David Mendoza (ODU) def. Garth Wara (Cal State-Bakersfield) by technical fall, 18-2
David Mendoza (ODU) def. Chris Iammarino (Ohio University) by decision, 5-4
Pat Bradshaw (Edinboro) def. David Mendoza (ODU) by decision, 6-4
Daren Burns (UNC Greensboro) def. David Mendoza (ODU) by technical fall, 16-1

Ryan Bergman (Cal State-Bakersfield) def. Roy Dragon III (ODU) by decision, 5-4
Levon Mock (Brown) def. Roy Dragon III (ODU) by decision, 8-3