Burns & Tunnicliffe Shortlisted For US Sailing's Rolex Yachtsman & Yachtswoman of the Year Awards

December 09, 2010
By ODU Athletics
ODU Sports

Dec. 9, 2010

PORTSMOUTH, R.I. - With 2010 coming to a close, US Sailing is celebrating the year in review by naming its shortlist of nominees for the 2010 Rolex Yachtsman and Yachtswoman of the Year Awards. Former ODU greats, Adam Burns (North Tonawanda, N.Y.) and Anna Tunnicliffe (Plantation, Fla.) were both given nods by US Sailing, with the winners being announced in January.

The nominees will be reviewed by a panel of noted sailing journalists who discuss the merits of each nominee and vote to determine US SAILING's 2010 Rolex Yachtsman and Yachtswoman of the Year. The ultimate winners will be announced in mid-January and honored on February 25, 2011, during a luncheon at the New York Yacht Club in Manhattan, when they will be presented with Rolex timepieces.

Burns was a three-time All-American at Old Dominion, being recognized three consecutive years from 1999-2001. In 2010 he was the Melges 24 North American Champion.

Tunnicliffe, an Olympic Gold Medalist and three-time collegiate sailing All-American at ODU, was the 2010 US Sailing's Rolex Miami OCR Women's Match Racing Champion. Additionally, Tunnicliffe was one of 10 finalists from around the world for this years Women's Sports-Foundation Sportswomen of the Year.

Representing the USA, Tunnicliffe won the Gold Medal in the Women's Laser Radial dinghy at the 2008 Olympic Games in Qingdao, China. Tunnicliffe was the ISAF world's Number One-ranked women's Radial sailor from April 9, 2008 to May 2010. She was voted 2009 ISAF Rolex World Sailor of the Year in November 2009.

Established in 1961 by US SAILING and sponsored by Rolex Watch, U.S.A. since 1980, the annual presentation of US SAILING's Rolex Yachtsman and Yachtswoman of the Year awards are considered the sport's ultimate recognition of an individual's outstanding on-the-water achievements for the calendar year.

Nominees shortlisted for US SAILING's 2010 Rolex Yachtsman of the Year award: Sunfish North American Champion Bill Brangiforte (Weymouth, Mass.); Melges 24 North American Champion Adam Burns (North Tonawanda, N.Y.); 505 North American Champion Augie Diaz (Miami, Fla.); Luderitz Speed Record Breaker Robert Douglas (Nantucket, Mass.); J/24 World Champion Tim Healy (Newport, R.I.); Jules Verne Circumnavigation Record Winner Stan Honey (Palo Alto, Calif.); Marinepool Melges 24 World Champion Jonathan McKee (Seattle, Wash.); Newport to Bermuda Race Winner Rives Potts (Essex, Conn.); Lightning North American Champion David Starck (Buffalo, N.Y.); and Star North American Champion George Szabo (San Diego, Calif.)

Nominees shortlisted for US SAILING's 2010 Rolex Yachtswoman of the Year award: 470 Women's North American Champion Amanda Clark (Shelter Island, N.Y.); ICSA/Laser Performance Women's Singlehanded National Champion Claire Dennis (Saratoga, Calif.); Kieler Woche Laser Radial Champion Paige Railey (Clearwater, Fla.); Laser Radial Youth Women's World Champion Erika Reineke (Fort Lauderdale, Fla.); U.S. Women's Match Racing Champion Genny Tulloch (San Francisco, Calif.); and US SAILING's Rolex Miami OCR Women's Match Racing Champion Anna Tunnicliffe (Plantation, Fla.).