Frank Hassell Named Riley Wallace & Lou Henson All-Americans

March 16, 2011
By ODU Athletics
ODU Sports

March 16, 2011

NORFOLK, VA--ODU senior Frank Hassell has been named Riley Wallace All -American. The team consists of eight seniors who have been a major part of their team's success by contributing in all phases of the game throughtout their careers. He was also named to the Lou Henson Mid-Major All-American team.

Hassell was named SI.COM Honorable Mention All-American last week. The 6-9 Chesapeake, VA. native helped lead the Monarchs to their second straight CAA crown was named first team All-CAA and Tournament MVP. The Chesapeake, Va. native led the team with a 15.0 points and 9.6 rebounds (30th nationally) per game. He also hit .561 from the floor and .731 from the line. Hassell has 15 double-doubles thus far this season and is ODU's 10th all-time rebounder with 904. Hassell has 1262 career points which is 28th on ODU's all-time list.

Hassell is the third Monarch to ever earn this honor. Alex Loughton in 2006 and Gerald Lee in 2010 are previous Monarch selectees.

"I'm honored that would establish this All-America Team in my name," said Wallace. "I coached a lot of great players that possessed the qualities that this team has. It's a great group of players."

Like many of the great players that Riley Wallace coached, during his 20-year career at Hawaii, the Riley Wallace All-America team highlights players that have excelled without a lot of national attention

Leadership, clutch play and production in all phases of the game are what make a Riley Wallace All-American.

2011 Riley Wallace All-American Team
Tim Abromaitis  6-8 F Notre Dame
Jeff Allen      6-7 F  Virginia Tech
Bill Clark      6-5 G  Duquesne
D.J. Gay        6-0 G  San Diego State
Frank Hassell   6-9 C  ODU
Rick Jackson    6-9 F   Syracuse
Darryl Shazier  6-0  G  Bucknell
Joe Trapani    6-8  F   BOston College.


Kwadzo Ahelegbe, Northern Iowa Devon Beitzel, Northern Colorado Denzel Bowles, James Madison Gilberto Clavell, Sam Houston State D.J. Cooper, Ohio Kevin Foster, Santa Clara Mike Glover, Iona Justin Greene, Kent State Demonte Harper, Morehead State Frank Hassell, Old Dominion John Holland, Boston University Matt Howard, Butler Orlando Johnson, UC Santa Barbara Cameron Jones, Northern Arizona Cam Long, George Mason Scott Machado, Iona Shelvin Mack, Butler Mickey McConnell, St. Mary's Kwame Morgan II, Hampton Dominique Morrison, Oral Roberts Juan Pattillo, Western Kentucky Mike Smith, East Tennessee State Casper Ware, Long Beach State Kyle Weems, Missouri State Keith Wright, Harvard