Southern Auto Above Header 2015
MBB Voucher Above Header
Uploaded Ad
Battle 4 Atlantis
WBB Voucher Books Above Header
Big Blue 5K Upper Right Ad -2016
Tickets for Troops
Wrestling Vouchers 2015-2016

Seven Lady Monarchs Honored By IWLCA For Academic Excellence

Courtesy: ODU Athletics
Release: November 11, 2009
Print RSS
Article Image

Nov. 11, 2009

GRAND LAKE, Colo. - Seven Old Dominion women's lacrosse student-athletes were named to the Intercollegiate Women's Lacrosse Coaches Association (IWLCA) Academic Honor Roll, it was announced Tuesday.

Lindsey Belle, Ashley Kellogg, Taylor Ketcham, Kelly Kimener, Nichole McMahon, Brittany Washko and Sarah Wright represented ODU on the list that recognized 407 student-athletes at 152 institutions for their excellence in the classroom during the 2008-09 academic year.

Washko was ODU's Jack Wilkins/James Howard Scholar Athlete of the Year, presented to the female senior athlete with the highest cumulative grade point average. On the field Washko started all 16 matches for the Lady Monarchs last year and she scooped 24 ground balls and caused 12 turnovers. She graduate with a 3.96 grade point average in dental hygiene.

Old Dominion was joined by Delaware, Hofstra, James Madison and Towson in representing the Colonial Athletic Association. The five squads combined to have 21 student-athletes honored for their academic achievements.

All student-athletes were nominated by their institutions and have attained at least junior standing academically. Nominees considered had a GPA of 3.5 or higher or were in the top 10 percent of their team. Included in the list of honorees were the IWLCA Scholar-Athletes of the Year: Anna Ford from Elizabethtown College, Julie Kraus from Southern New Hampshire University, and Kristin Schwab from Princeton University.


MBB Voucher Books Ad Belt
WBB Voucher Books Ad Belt
Big Blue 5K Belt Ad -2016
Wrestling Vouchers 2015-2016
Uploaded Ad
Tickets the Troops
ODAF Donor Spotlight