2009 CAA Wrestling Championship Brackets Released

March 05, 2009
By ODU Athletics

March 5, 2009

Complete Brackets in PDF Format

CHESAPEAKE, Va. - The 2009 CAA Wrestling Championship brackets were announced Thursday night, following the coaches seeding meeting at Oscar Smith High School in Chesapeake, Virginia. Old Dominion and Hofstra each have three top seeds at the event, while the other four top seeds were split by four schools. The tournament begins on Friday, March 6 and will continue through Saturday, March 7. Wrestling starts at 11:00 am on Friday with the finals set for 1:00 pm on Saturday.

The pre-tournament seedings held true for for nearly all ten weights, with the only switch coming at 174 lbs. ODU's Eric Decker was pre-seeded at third and Boston University's Hunter Meys fourth and the two switched after the coaches meeting.

Old Dominion has the top seed at 125, James Nicholson, 141, Ryan Williams, and 165, Chris Brown, and Hofstra boasts the league number one at 133, Lou Ruggirello, 157, Jon Bonilla-Bowman, and 174, Alton Lucas. The other top seeds are Boston University's Mike Roberts at 149, Binghamton's Josh Patterson at 184, George Mason's Cayle Byers at 197 and Rider University's Eddie Bordas at heavyweight.

Full brackets are at the top and bottom of this page in pdf format.

Complete Brackets in PDF Format

MORE IN Wrestling


Wrestling: Michael McGee // Steve Martin Interview
Wrestling: Steve Martin Interview // MAC Preview
Wrestling: CMU Presser