Wrestling Set to Host Annual Intrasquad Scrimmage on Thursday

October 24, 2012
By ODU Athletics
ODU Sports

Oct. 24, 2012

Norfolk, Va. - The Old Dominion University wrestling team will be holding their annual Blue-Silver Intrasquad scrimmage on Thursday, Oct. 25. Doors will open to the public in the practice gym of the Jim Jarrett Athletic Administration building at 6 p.m. The first wrestle-off is set to begin at 6:30 p.m. All 10 weight classes will be represented on Thursday.

Last year, the nationally ranked Monarchs sent a school record seven Monarchs to the 2012 NCAA Wrestling Championships. Five of those seven wrestlers are back in action this year as Jerome Robinson (125), Scott Festejo (133), Justin LaValle (141), John Nicholson (157), and Tristan Warner (165) all return to the mat this season for Old Dominion.

ODU will open the season in the Knight Point Open in Clarion, Pa. on Nov. 4. The Monarchs will host their first home match when Wisconsin comes to town on Nov. 16 at 7:30 p.m.

Tryouts will be held throughout the Intrasquad scrimmage for the new "Voice of ODU Wrestling". If interested, please contact Grant Gardner at: ggard004@odu.edu.

Intrasquad Match Lineup
Match 1 (125) Rob Deutsch vs. Buddy Scarborough
Match 2 (133) Taylor Moeder vs. Michael Hayes
Match 3 (149) Jacob Kingett vs. Alexander Richardson
Match 4 (141) Chris Mecate vs. Josh Clark
Match 5 (165) Tristan Warner vs. (Winner of Adrin Taylor vs Tanner Tinsley/Rodin Ndandula)
Match 6 (174) Billy Curling vs. (Winner of Joe Jessen vs. Marcus Johnson)
Match 7 (184) Austin Coburn vs. Jack Dechow
Match 8 (197) Jacob Henderson vs. Kevin Beazley
Match 9 (HWT) Matt Tourdot vs. (Winner of Danny Davis vs. Lucas Ryan)
Match 10 (133) Scott Festejo vs. (Winner of Match 2)
Match 11 (149) Pete Baldwin vs. (Winner of Match 3)
**There will be four preliminary wrestle-offs earlier in the day.