Soccer Monarchs Picked To Finish Second In CAA

August 04, 2005
By ODU Athletics
ODU Sports

Aug. 4, 2005

RICHMOND, VA--The Old Dominion University soccer Monarchs which returns six starters from last year's 13-6-2 squad that reached the CAA finals and earned a 12th seed in the NCAA Men's College Cup, has been picked to finish second in the CAA for the upcoming 2005 season according to a vote of the league's 12 head coaches.

Heading the list of returnees for ODU who earned a third straight at-large berth to the NCAA tournament is two-time second team All-CAA forward Brian Cvilikas (Highlands Ranch, CO.), All-CAA Rookie selection David Horst (Pine Grove, PA.) and 2003 first team All-American and CAA Defender of the Year Trevor McEachron (Woodbridge, VA.) who missed last season while recovering from a knee injury.

Virginia Commonwealth, which returns seven starters from last year's team that reached the NCAA Men's College Cup quarterfinals has been selected first. They received eight first place votes, while ODU and James Madison each got two first place votes.

The CAA was the four-ranked Division I conference in the nation last season, with five teams among the top 45 in the final NCAA RPI, and seven listed among the top 100. ODU along with VCU and JMU finished the 2005 season ranked among the nation's top 20 in various polls.

The Soccer Monarchs open the season on Aug. 20 with a home exhibition match against Virginia Tech. ODU's first regular season home match is Sept. 1 against North Carolina State. The Stihl Soccer Classic is Sept. 9 against Rhode Island, and 11 against Clemson. Also coming to ODU this year will be Virginia on Sept. 21. defending CAA champion Hofstra on Oct. 16, VCU on Oct. 21 and James Madison on Oct. 23.

2005 CAA MEN'S SOCCER PRE-SEASON COACHES POLL 1. VCU (8 first place votes) 117 2. ODU (2 first place votes) 106 3. JMU (2 first place votes) 105 4. Hofstra 88 5. UNC Wilmington 79 6. William & Mary 74 7. George Mason 60 8. Towson 51 9. Drexel 37 10.Georgia State 27 Northeastern 72 12. Delaware 21

Teams received 11 points for a first place vote, 10 for a second, etc. Coaches were Not allowed to vote for their own team.