Monarchs Tennis Closes Out Dual Meet Season With 5-2 CAA Victory Over UNC-Wilmington

April 18, 2004
By ODU Athletics
ODU Sports

April 18, 2004

NORFOLK, VA -- The Old Dominion men's tennis team closed out the dual meet season by defeating Colonial Athletic Association rival, UNC-Wilmington, 5-2, at the Old Dominion tennis courts. The Monarchs will return to the courts on April 23-25 in Williamsburg as they make a run for the CAA crown at the CAA Championships hosted by William & Mary.

Old Dominion swept the doubles points with wins from No. 1 and No. 3 doubles. Junior Izak van der Merwe and senior Niklas Oskarsson earned a No. 1 doubles win with an 8-3 downing of Danilo Mendes and Caio Piacentini. Senior Calin Milos and freshman Nate Grove teammed up to earn the point by defeating the Seahawk's Rahul Rajkhewa and Timothy Mereidth, 8-3, at No. 3 doubles.

UNC-Wilmington did manage to upset Old Dominion 12th ranked No. 1 singles player. Danilo Mendes upset Izak van der Merwe in straight sets, 6-2, 7-5, to earn one of the two Seahawks points. The other UNC-Wilmington point came at No. 4 singles as Timothy Meredith defeated sophomore Adriano Mello, 0-6, 6-3, 6-3.

The Monarchs gathered wins in the four other singles matches. At No. 2 singles, senior Zoltan Csanadi downed Caio Piacentini in three sets, 4-6, 6-1, 6-2, while fellow senior Calin Milos earned a 6-2, 6-4 victory over Rahul Rajkhewa. Freshman Henrique Cancado picked up a No. 5 singles win with a 6-4, 7-5 decision over Scott Curry and senior Niklas Oskarsson rounded out play with a No. 6 singles, 6-0, 6-3 wn over Grant Holland.

#1 Izak van der Merwe/Niklas Oskarsson (ODU) def. Danilo Mendes/Caio Piacentini (UNC-W): 8-3
#2 Zoltan Csanadi/Adriano Mello (ODU) vs. Scott Curry/Grant Holland (UNC-W): Unfinished
#3 Calin Milos/Nate Grove (ODU) def. Rahul Rajkhewa/Timothy Meredith (UNC-W): 8-3

#1 Danilo Mendes (UNCW) def. #12 Izak van der Merwe (ODU): 6-2, 7-5
#2 Zoltan Csanadi (ODU) def. Caio Piacentini (UNC-W): 4-6, 6-1, 6-2
#3 Calin Milos (ODU) def. Rahul Rajkhewa (UNCW): 6-2, 6-4
#4 Timothy Meredith (UNC-W) def. Adriano Mello (ODU): 0-6, 6-3, 6-3
#5 Henrique Cancado (ODU) def. Scott Curry (UNC-W): 6-4, 7-5
#6 Niklas Oskarsson (ODU) def. Grant Holland (UNC-W): 6-0, 6-3