Monarchs Defeat Xavier, 67-58 For Paradise Jam Title

November 22, 2010
By ODU Athletics
ODU Sports

Nov. 22, 2010

Box Score

ST. THOMAS, VI-- Old Dominion (4-1) defeated Xavier (4-1), 67-58 to win the Paradise Jam Championship Monday night. Hassell led the way for ODU with 16 points and eight rebounds. He along with Ben Finney were named to the All-Tournament team with Finney earning MVP honors.

ODU led most of the game, including 33-25 at halftime, but Xavier stormed back to tie the game at 52-52 with 6:07 left on a three-pointer by Mark Lyons.

ODU then finished the game on a 15-6 run. Junior forward Chris Cooper hit two free throws to put the Monarchs back up for good at 54-52 with 4:50 left. After a Xavier turnover Kent Bazemore scored to put ODU up four at 56-52. Frank Hassell made it 60-54 with 1:31 left, then Bazemore, Trian Iliadis hit a total of seven free throws to close out the game.

Once again, ODU's bench came up big. Senior Darius James picked up three first half fouls, but Iliadis and Marquel DeLancey chipped in. DeLance scored a career high seven points and dished out three assists with only one turnover in 20 minutes of playing time. Iliadis scored 12 points with three-for-four shooting from the floor, including two treys.

ODU shot .462 (24-52) from the floor and outrebounded Xavier, 36-25. Besides Hassell's eight boards, Kent Bazemore hauled down nine rebounds to go with his nine points.

Xavier was led in scoring by Tu Holloway with 14 and Mark Lyons with 14. Holloway came into the game with a 27 per game scoring average.

The Monarchs return to action on Dec. 1 when they host the Spiders of Richmond at the Ted Constant Convocation Center.

FINNEY NAMED CAA CO-PLAYER OF THE WEEK Finney averaged 13.3 points and 4.3 4.3 assists in helping ODU to wins over High Point, St. Peter's and Clameson. He scored double figures in all three contests, including 13 in the win over Clemson that sent the Monarchs to the Paradise Jam Finals.

The All tournament

2010 TOURNAMENT MVP - Ben Finney, Old Dominion 2010 ALL-TOURNAMENT TEAM: Jeff Robinson, Seton Hall Larry Anderson, Long Beach State Demontez Stitt, Clemson Frank Hassell, Old Dominion Tu Holloway, Xavier