Anders Named 2000 DITA/NFHCA South Region Coach of Year

December 04, 2000
By ODU Athletics
Richmond, VA (Dec. 4) -- The National Field Hockey Coaches Assocation announced today its choices for the 2000 Dita/NFHCA Division I Regional Coaches of the Year. Among the honorees was Old Dominion's Beth Anders. It is the second such honor for Anders, who led her team to a 25-1 record en route to the 2000 National Championship.

Anders has amassed a 390-55-7 career record in 19 years at Old Dominion. She has guided the program to nine NCAA championships and nine CAA championships. Anders, a six-time CAA Coach of the Year, was named the Dita/NFHCA National Coach of the Year in 1998.

The following is a complete listing of Dita/NFHCA Regional Coaches of the Year:
Denise Zelenak, Drexel University: 2000 Dita/NFHCA MidAtlantic Region Zelenak led Drexel to a 13-7 overall mark setting a school record for victories in a single season. The 2000 campaign also marked the program's first bid to the America East Conference Tournament during Zelenak's tenure.

Char Morett, Penn State University: 2000 Dita/NFHCA Mideast Region Morett led the Lady Lions to a 17-6 overall record and the program's 14th consecutive bid to the NCAA Tournament under her direction.

Patty Shea, University of Massachusetts: 2000 Dita/NFHCA Northeast Region Shea led the Minutewomen to a 19-4 overall record and the program's fifth straight Atlantic 10 Conference Championship. Shea received Atlantic 10 Coach of the Year honors for her efforts. Massachusetts advanced to the second round of the NCAA Tournament.

Beth Anders, Old Dominion University: 2000 Dita/NFHCA South Region Anders led the Lady Monarchs to a 25-1 overall record and the 2000 NCAA National Championship. Old Dominion captured the 2000 CAA Championship with Anders being honored as the CAA Coach of the Year.

Marcia Pankratz, University of Michigan: 2000 Dita/NFHCA West Region Pankratz led the Wolverines to a 19-4 overall record and the Big Ten Regular Season and Tournament Championships. Pankratz was selected as the Big Ten Coach of the Year. Michigan advanced to the second round of the NCAA Tournament.

The 2000 Dita/NFHCA Division I National Coach of the Year will be announced at the NFHCA Awards Luncheon on January 13, 2001 in King of Prussia, Pennsylvania.

MORE IN Field Hockey

Big East

Video Recap: Coach Griffiths on Senior Day, Loss to #1 UNC, 2018 Season
Video Recap: Coach Griffiths on OT Loss to Villanova
Video Recap: Griffiths, Birch Talk 3-0 Win at Quinnipiac