Ryan Williams, Steve Martin Headline VaSID All-State Wrestling Team

April 17, 2009
By ODU Athletics
ODU Sports

April 17, 2009

NORFOLK, Va. -- For the second year in a row, ODU dominated the Virginia Sports Information Directors Association All-State Wrestling team, headlining the announcement with Wrestler of the Year and Coach of the Year honors. Head coach Steve Martin was named VaSID All-State Coach of the Year for the second straight season and senior Ryan Williams capped his career as the second Monarch to be named All-State Wrestler of the Year in as many years. In all, six Monarchs were tabbed by the state SID's, with five earning first team honors.

Williams (Mechanicsburg, Pa.) posted a 39-4 mark in his final campaign, en route to an All-American season and NCAA Finals appearance. The senior 141-pounder became ODU's second Division I finalist in school history and also topped the all-time wins list, with 137. He was 22-1 in dual action, a perfect 5-0 against CAA competition and defended his conference title in dominant fashion.

Martin was pegged as the VaSID Coach of the Year for a second consecutive season as he led Old Dominion to another 17-win season and the highest national ranking in school history, at 16th in the nation. He guided ODU to the school's first ever regular season conference title, a Top 20 finish at nationals and victories over three nationally ranked programs during the season. Martin also halted Hofstra's 63-match unbeaten conference streak by defeating them in regular season action.

James Nicholson follows up his Wrestler/Rookie of the Year selection in 2007-08 as a repeat first teamer at 125 lbs. Kyle Hutter (133 lbs), Chris Brown (165 lbs), and Jesse Strawn (197 lbs) also joined Williams on the first team as ODU boasts five of the ten. Joey Metzler (149 lbs) was named to the second team rounding out ODU's selections.

The Monarchs six All-State wrestlers led the way, followed by Virginia Tech's five.

VaSID All-State First Team
125 James Nicholson, Old Dominion
133 Kyle Hutter, Old Dominion
141 Ryan Williams, Old Dominion

149 Pete Yates, Virginia Tech
157 Peter Rose, Southern Virginia
165 Chris Brown, Old Dominion
174 Chris Henrich, Virginia
184 Tommy Spellman, Virginia Tech
197 Jesse Strawn, Old Dominion
HWT Cecil Lee, Apprentice School

VaSID All-State Second Team
125 Jarrod Garnett, Virginia Tech
133 Christian Smith, Liberty
141 Tim Harner, Liberty
149 Joey Metzler, Old Dominion
157 Jesse Dong, Virginia Tech
165 Will Harcum, Apprentice School
174 Mendbagana Tovuujav, George Mason
184 Rocco Caponi, Virginia
197 Brent Jones, Virginia
HWT David Marone, Virginia Tech

Wrestler of the Year:
Ryan Williams, Old Dominion

Rookie of the Year:
Jarrod Garnett, Virginia Tech

Coach of the Year:
Steve Martin, Old Dominion