Loughton, Waller, Hunter & Dahi Earn CAA Honors

March 04, 2004
By ODU Athletics

March 4, 2004

RICHMOND, VA-- Alex Loughton (Perth, Australia), Isaiah Hunter (Charlotte, NC.), John Waller (Richmond, VA.) and Arnaud Dahi (Ivory Coast, Africa) all garnered honors from the Colonial Athletic Association at the league's award banquet Thursday night.

Loughton, the 6-9 sophomore forward was named first team All-CAA. He averaged 16.6 points and 8.9 rebounds per game. Loughton performed eight double-doubles this year and ranked in the top ten of the CAA in scoring, rebounding, field goal percentage, free throw percentage, steals and offensive and defensive rebounding. Loughton was also named to the CAA's All- Defensive squad and All-Academic team with a 3.3 grade point average in business

Senior John Waller, the 6-4 Richmond native was selected to the third team All-CAA. Waller averaged 13.0 points per game and ranked fifth in the CAA in three-point field goal percentage(.382). He also ranked 12th in the league in scoring and field goal percentage.

Sophomore guard Isaiah Hunter joined Waller on the CAA third team. Hunter averaged 13.0 points per game and 3.1 rebounds per game. He averaged almost 16 points per game the last ten games of the season. That included a career high 28 point effort against Hofstra and a 25 point effort Delaware.

Arnaud Dahi continues ODU's long history of outstanding freshman, earning a spot on the All-Rookie squad. The 6-7 forward averaged 9.0 points and 5.6 rebounds. He ranked tenth in the CAA in rebounding, fourth in blocked shots, and seventh in offensive rebounds. He performed double-doubles against St. Joseph's and South Alabama.

Coach of the Year honors went to Bruiser Flint of Drexel, while Domonic Jones of VCU was the CAA Player of the Year and Corey Cofield of William and Mary was the league's Rookie of the Year. The Defensive Player of the Year was Drexel freshman Bashir Mason.

The Monarchs open the Pioneer/CAA Championship Saturday at 2:30 against Hofstra in the Richmond Coliseum.

Domonic Jones, VCU(Player of the Year)
Alex Loughton, ODU
Adam Hess, W&M
Kenny Adeleke, Hofstra
Phil Gozz, Drexel
Jai Lewis, GMU

Second Team Mike Ames, Delaware Troy Godwin, VCU Tim Whitworth, Drexel Sean Brooks, Drexel Mark Davis, GMU

Third Team Dwayne Broyles, JMU Mike Slattery, Delaware John Waller,ODU Isaiah Hunter, ODU Corey Cofield, W&M

ALL ROOKIE Cory Cofield, W&M (Rookie of The Year) Loren Stokes, Hofstra Bashir Mason, Drexel Arnaud Dahi, ODU Ray Barbosa, JMU

ALL DEFENSIVE Bashir Mason,Drexel(Defensive Player of The Year) Kenny Adeleke,Hofstra Tony Dixon, Towson John Goldsberry, UNCW Alex Loughton, ODU

MORE IN Men's Basketball


Liberty Tax
Men's Basketball: C-USA Semifinals - WKU Presser
Men's Basketball: C-USA Semifinals - WKU Recap
Men's Basketball: C-USA Quarterfinals LA Tech Recap