Gideon Asante On The 2011 MAC Hermann Trophy Watch List

August 17, 2011
By ODU Athletics
ODU Sports

Aug. 17, 2011

Old Dominion University's Gideon Asante (Sunyani, Ghana), a sophomore forward is among 42 players on the 2011 Missouri Athletic Club's Hermann Trophy Watch List. The Monarchs are in two pre-season polls. ODU is 26th in College Soccer News and 34th in

The MAC Hermann Trophy is the highest individual award in intercollegiate soccer. The recipients are selected by head coaches of NCAA Division I programs who are members of the National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA).

Five other schools each placed two players on the list: Connecticut, Creighton, Duke, Fordham and SMU. The University of Louisville, the No. 1 team in the NSCAA/Continental Tire Pre-Season Rankings, had two players on the list: senior forward Colin Rolfe (Canton, Mich.), the lone returning Hermann Trophy finalist from the 2010 season, and senior defender Austin Berry (Cincinnati, Ohio).

Of the 42 players, five were semifinalists for the award in 2010: Tony Cascio (Connecticut/Gilbert, Ariz.), Ethan Finlay (Creighton/Marshfield, Wis.), Antoine Hoppenot (Princeton/Princeton, N.J.), Arthur Ivo (SMU/Braganca, Brazil) and Andrew Wenger (Duke/Lititz, Pa.).

Monmouth, who will be in this year's ODU-Stihl Soccer Classic (Sept. 9 and 11) has three players on the list.

A total of 35 different schools and seven countries are represented on the list, including players from the United States, Australia, Brazil, England, Ghana, New Zealand and Sweden.

Asante scored four goals with two assists last year and was named Second Team All-CAA, First Team All-South Atlantic Region and CAA All-Rookie team.

Voting for the MAC Hermann Trophy is conducted in late November, when a field of 15 semifinalists is reduced to three finalists. Those three will be invited to the Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis on Friday, Jan. 6, 2012, where a news conference will be held to announce the winner, followed by a banquet to honor the three finalists.

2011 Men's MAC Hermann Trophy Watch List
Pos.	Name	        Class	School
D	RJ Allen	Sr.	Monmouth
M	Carlos Alvarez	Sr.	Connecticut
M	Gideon Asante	So.	Old Dominion
K	James Belshaw	Jr.	Duke
D	Austin Berry	Sr.	Louisville
D	Thomas Brandt	Sr.	Pennsylvania
M	Andrew Bulls	Sr.	UMBC
F	Brendan Burgdorf Jr.
M	Michael Bustamante Sr.	Boston University
M	Cody Calafiore	Jr.	Temple
F	Tony Cascio	Sr.	Connecticut
F	Juan Castillo	So.	SMU
D	Marcello Castro	Jr.	Sacred Heart
D	Justin Chavez	Sr.	Tulsa
M	Warren Creavalle Sr.	Central Florida
D	Roger Downes	Sr.	Loyola Marymount
F	Ethan Finlay	Sr.	Creighton
D	Shaun Foster	So.	Hofstra
D	Raymon Gaddis	Sr.	West Virginia
F	Sam Garza	Jr.	UC Santa Barbara
F	Bryan Gaul	Sr.	Bradley
M	Max Hamilton	Sr.	Monmouth
F	Antoine Hoppenot Sr.	Princeton
M	Arthur Ivo	Sr.	SMU
K	Matt Lampson	Jr.	Ohio State
M	Enzo Martinez	Jr.	North Carolina
K	Ryan Meara	Sr.	Fordham
F	Karo Okiomah	Sr.	High Point
D	Tyler Polak	So.	Creighton
M	Josey Portillo	Sr.	Florida Gulf Coast
M	Tim Richardson	Sr.	Fordham
D	Charles Rodriguez Sr.	Charlotte
M	Kelyn Rowe	So.	UCLA
F	Colin Rolfe	Sr.	Louisville
D	Kevin Strunk	Sr.	Lehigh
F	Chris Thomas	Jr.	Elon
F	Casey Townsend	Sr.	Maryland
D	Anthony Vasquez	Sr.	Monmouth
F	Patrick Wallen	Jr.	San Diego
D	Andrew Wenger	Jr.	Duke
F	Chris Wheeler	Jr.	Mount St. Mary's
F	Gyasi Zardes	So.	CSU-Bakersfield