ODU Takes Second At CAA Champs, Four Wrestlers Advance To NCAA's

March 06, 2006
By ODU Athletics
ODU Sports

March 6, 2006

PHILADELPHIA, PA - The Colonial Athletic Association Championships concluded this weekend as 23 NCAA Championship qualifying berths were awarded. ODU took second with 76.50 points as a team. The top two finishers in each weight class will move on to the NCAA Tournament in Oklahoma City on March 16-18. Representing the Monarchs will be Bryan LaShomb at 125 pounds, Ryan Williams at 133 pounds, and Adam Wright at 197 pounds. Robby Gosnell has been named an alternate at 165 lbs. This is the first time since 1995 that ODU has sent 3 wrestlers to the NCAA Tournament, if Gosnell competes it will be the first time in the history of the program that Old Dominion has had four competitors enter the tourney.

Final Individual Results:>
125: Dave Tomasette (Hofstra) dec. Bryan LaShomb (Old Dominion), 8-7
133: Zack Cunliffe (Rider) dec. Ryan Williams (ODU), 6-5
141: Charles Griffin (Hofstra) dec. Chris Davis (Sacred Heart), 7-3
149: Jon Masa (Hofstra) wbf. Chris Renninger (Drexel), 2:42
157: James Strouse (Hofstra) dec. Ryan Hluschak (Drexel), 7-3
165: Chris Vondruska (Hofstra) dec. Steven Tisdell (George Mason), 3-2
174: Mike Patrovich (Hofstra) dec. Doug Umbehauer (Rider), 7-3
184: Joe Rovelli (Hofstra) dec. Joe Maroney (Rider), 6-0
197: Adam Wright (Old Dominion) wbf. Chris Weidman (Hofstra), 2:54
285: Payam Zarrinpour (Sacred Heart) dec. Chris Cvitan (JMU), 10-5

Team Results

1. Hofstra 125.00 2. Old Dominion 76.50 3. Drexel 65.00 4. Rider 62.00 5. Sacred Heart 45.00 6. James Madison 38.00 7. George Mason 31.50 8. Boston U 23.50 9. Binghamton 15.00 10. Wagner 5.00 11. Campell 0.50

Advancing to NCAA Tournament (top two finishers, plus wildcards*)

Dave Tomasette (Hofstra) Steven Tisdell (George Mason) Bryan LaShomb (Old Dominion) Mike Patriotic (Hofstra) Zack Cunliffe (Rider) Doug Umbehauer (Rider) Ryan Williams (ODU) Joe Rovelli (Hofstra) Charles Griffin (Hofstra) Joe Maroney (Rider) Chris Davis (Sacred Heart) Adam Wright (ODU) Jon Masa (Hofstra) Chris Wideman (Hofstra) Chris Renninger (Drexel) Payam Zarrinpour (Sacred Heart) James Strouse (Hofstra) Chris Cvitan (James Madison) Ryan Hluschak (Drexel) Steve Mytych (Drexel)* Chris Vondruska (Hofstra) Jon Oplinger (Drexel)* TJ Morrison (RID)*