Monarch Sailing Hosts MAISA Championship and Finishes in Sixth Place

April 09, 2007
By ODU Athletics
ODU Sports

April 9, 2007

NORFOLK, VA -- The Old Dominion University sailing team hosted and raced to a sixth place finish at the MAISA Team Racing Championship (Prosser Team Race) this weekend. The Monarchs defeated Navy, UPenn, and Washington College once each and King's Point twice en route to a 5-9 record good for sixth. St. Mary's came away with the victory with a 15-2 overall record.

Of nine teams attending the Prosser Team Race, the Monarchs finished sixth bolstered by a three-win first round. In the second round, Navy and UPenn rebounded to defeat the Monarchs, but ODU did the same to Washington College and finished the event with a 5-9 record.

In the final four, St. Mary's swept Navy, Hobart & William Smith, and Georgetown for the win.

ODU Sailors:
David Tunnicliffe
Bobby Noonan
Kyle Rogachenko
Wade Schon
Mike Brown
Jennifer Adams
Ryan Kozoriz
Elyssa Albert

Prosser Team Race Regatta 2007

Old Dominion University


Snow showers greeted the sailors along with NW wind 24-30 knots with 2-3 foot chop. Postponed till 1:00 pm. The course was set in the afternoon off Norfolk Yacht and Country Club in the Lafayette River where the water was flatter and breeze was 10-25 out of the NW. 28 races were sailed in FJ's around Digital N course. 5 umpire boats were on the water watching the action and making calls as needed. No protests were heard. Thank you to the members of Town Point Yacht Club who provided lunch for the regatta participants. Thank you to the umpire team.


Overall it was a pleasant Sunday. The wind was mostly from the west at 12 knots, but there where some major variations in velocity and strength that on occasion led to capsizes. It was close competition. Congratulations to St. Mary's, Hobart / William Smith, and Navy in qualifying for Team Race Nationals.

Umpire team was lead by Jeff Borland, and included K.C. Fullmer, Dave Pyron, Christine Accettella, Bryant McGann, Corrie Clement, Ali Sharp, Charles Higgins, and John Keith.

Winning Team:

St. Mary's
Jesse Kirkland
John Howell
John Loe
Hilary Wiech
Maggie Lumkes
Meredith Nordhem
Jen Chamberlin
Cotton Kelley
Myles Gutenkunst