Style Guide 2015
BBall $24 Season Ticket Deposit
BBall Young Alumni Offer
Southern Auto Above Header 2015
MBB Voucher Above Header
WBB Voucher Books Above Header
Tickets for Troops
Wrestling Vouchers 2015-2016
McDonald's Tee Kid

Monarchs Place Four On All-CAA Men's Tennis Team

Courtesy: ODU Athletics
Release: April 17, 2008
Send this article to a friend Print RSS

April 17, 2008

Newport News, Va. - The Colonial Athletic Association released its all-conference men's tennis team today and the Monarchs of Old Dominion University were well represented with four All-CAA selections.

Aleksandr Seleznev was the only Monarch named to the first team for his singles play, while Tobias Fanselow and Eidy Igarashi were second team selections and Rodrigo Souza a third team honoree.

Seleznev, a second team selection a year ago, has played at the No. 1 spot for the Monarchs all-season, compiling an overall mark of 21-13 including a victory over Max Jones of New Mexico who was ranked 47th at the time. Igarashi posted 11 wins at the No. 2 position and a 3-0 mark at No. 1 for the Monarchs, earning a spot on the second team after being a third team selection in 2007. Fanselow joined the ODU squad in January and made an immediate impact playing primarily at No. 3 where he garnered 11 wins. Senior Rodrigo Souza led the Monarchs with 25 victories on the season, including a record of 20-7 in dual matches to earn his first All-CAA honor.

In doubles play Seleznev and Igarashi were named to the All-CAA second team, while Souza and Fanselow were third team selections. Seleznev and Igarashi played at No. 1 for the Monarchs were they registered nine wins, and the duo of Souza and Fanselow posted a mark of 14-8 overall, 12-7 at the No. 2 doubles position.

Georgia State junior Nejc Podkrajsek was selected as the 2008 CAA men's tennis Player of the Year by a committee of the league's head coaches.

Also earning top honors from the conference were James Madison freshman Jared Robinson and VCU junior Martin Schulhauser as CAA Co-Rookies of the Year and VCU's Paul Kostin as CAA Coach of the Year.



First Team


Alex Cojanu, William & Mary                                       Sr.                    Hallandale, Fla.

Alex Israel, VCU                                                          Sr.                    Marseille, France

Damien Lacombe, VCU                                               Sr.                    Perigueux, France

Emil Lindgren, VCU                                                     Jr.                    Stocksund, Sweden

Nejc Podkrajsek, Georgia State                                   Jr.                    Zalec, Slovenia

Aleksandr Seleznev, Old Dominion                     Sr.                   Bishkek, Kyrgyz Republic



Alex Cojanu, William & Mary                           Sr.                    Hallandale, Fla.

Keziel Juneau, William & Mary                         So.                   Repentigny, Quebec

Emil Lindgren, VCU                                            Jr.                    Stocksund, Sweden

Sebastien Ripoll, VCU                                      Sr.                    Mauleon-Soule, France

Alex Cojanu, William & Mary                           Sr.                    Hallandale, Fla.

Dominic Pagon, William & Mary                         Jr.                    Kingston, Jamaica


Second Team


Gustavo Bertei, UNC Wilmington                                 Jr.                    Santa Catarina, Brazil

Tobias Fanselow, Old Dominion                               Fr.                   Essen, Germany

Eidy Igarashi, Old Dominion                                   Sr.                   Sao Jose do Rio Preto, Brazil

Omar Laalej, Drexel                                                     Sr.                    Meknes, Morocco

Austin Longacre, Delaware                                           So.                   Landenberg, Pa.

Jared Robinson, James Madison                                   Fr.                    Johannesburg, South Africa



Anze Cevka, Georgia State                                           Sr.                    Kamnik, Slovenia

Nejc Podkrajsek, Georgia State                                   Jr.                    Zalec, Slovenia

Mike Smith, James Madison                                         So.                   Fairfax Station, Va.

Jesse Tarr, James Madison                                           Sr.                    Midlothian, Va.

Aleksandr Seleznev, Old Dominion                   Sr.                   Bishkek, Kyrgyz Republic

Eidy Igarashi, Old Dominion                                 Sr.                   Sao Jose do Rio Preto, Brazil


Third Team


Luka Djordjevic, Hofstra                                              Sr.                    Belgrade, Serbia

Brian Fitzgerald, George Mason                                    Jr.                    Herndon, Va.

Michael Pereira, UNC Wilmington                                Fr.                    Fayetteville, N.C.

Sebastien Ripoll, VCU                                              Sr.                    Mauleon-Soule, France

Martin Schulhauser, VCU                                         Jr.                    Karvina, Czech Republic

Rodrigo Souza, Old Dominion                                 Sr.                   Rio de Janeiro, Brazil



Austin Longacre, Delaware                                           So.                   Landenberg, Pa.

Nolan Greenberg, Delaware                                         Jr.                    Glendale, Wisc.

Kavi Sud, William & Mary                                           Sr.                    Allentown, Pa.

Sebastien Vidal, William & Mary                                  Fr.                    Guatemala

Rodrigo Souza, Old Dominion                                 Sr.                   Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Tobias Fanselow, Old Dominion                               Fr.                   Essen, Germany



2008 CAA PLAYER OF THE YEAR:                        Nejc Podkrajsek, Georgia State

2008 CAA Co-ROOKIES OF THE YEAR:                Jared Robinson, James Madison

                                                                                    Martin Schulhauser, VCU                    

2008 CAA COACH OF THE YEAR:                        Paul Kostin, VCU



Uploaded Ad
Register to Wins
MBB Voucher Books Ad Belt
WBB Voucher Books Ad Belt
BBall $24 Season Ticket Deposit
Spirit of Norfolk
Uploaded Ad
Style Guide 2015
Wrestling Vouchers 2015-2016
Tickets the Troops
Uploaded Ad
ODAF Donor Spotlight
Monarch Media