Style Guide 2015
BBall $24 Season Ticket Deposit
BBall Young Alumni Offer
2015 Soccer Voucher Books
Fan Night 2015
2015 Football Season Tickets
Tickets for Troops

Former Sailing Standouts Are Nominees For 2006 Rolex Yachtswoman of the Year

Courtesy: ODU Athletics
Release: December 13, 2006
Send this article to a friend Print RSS
Article Image

Dec. 13, 2006

PORTSMOUTH, RI-- Two former Old Dominion University Women's sailing All-Americans and collegiate national champions are nominees for the 2006 Rolex Yachtswoman of the Year award. Three-time ICSA Collegiate Singlehanded National Champion Anna Tunnicliffe (Plantation, FL.) and three-time All-American Sally Barkow (Nashotah,WI.) are two of five finalists for this award.

Barkow('02) won the US Sailing Rolex event in Miami, Fla., Semaine Olympique Fracaise in Hyeres, France, and the Princess Sofia Trophy in Spain. In all, Barkow had three first, a second , a third and a fifth place finish this year.

As an undergrad at ODU, Barkow earned All-American honors in 2000, 2001 and 2002, and skippered ODU's Women's squad that captured the 2002 ICSA North American Collegiate National Championship in Honolulu, HI.

Tunnicliffe ('05), a member of the US National team recently won the U.S. Sailing Olympic pre-trails regatta for Laser Radials and will represent the USA at the 2007 Pan American games in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil in July. She Also won the US Sailing Rolex even in Miami. In all, She had nine top five finishes. Tunnicliffe was the 2005 Quantum Collegiate Sailor of the Year, and ODU's Alumni Association's Female Athlete of the Year.

Also nominated are Claire Dennis of Saratoga, CA, Sarah Lihan of Ft. Lauderdale, FL. And Pagie Railey of Clearwater, FL.


Football Season Tickets 2015
Fan Night 2015
2015 Soccer Voucher Books
BBall $24 Season Ticket Deposit
Style Guide 2015
Stihl Classic 2015
Tickets the Troops
ODAF Donor Spotlight
Monarch Media