No. 30 Men's Tennis Defeats East Carolina 7-0

April 15, 2007
By ODU Athletics
ODU Sports

April 15, 2007

GREENVILLE, N.C. -- The No. 30 Old Dominion men's tennis team made it a sweep against the East Carolina Pirate on Saturday. The 7-0 victory improved the Monarchs to 19-6 on the season and snapped a two-match losing streak.

Old Dominion swept all three doubles matches and won four of the six singles matches in straight sets.

In doubles, Eigy Igarashi and Alex Seleznev teamed up at No. 1 singles to defeat Aleksey Kochetov and Brian Walters, 8-4. No. 2 doubles saw Henrique Cancado and Yakov Diskin combine forces for an 8-2 win over Matt Peeler and Stephen Whitwell. Rounding out Monarch doubles play was Dominic Manilla and Rodrigo Souza in their 8-6 win over Bryan Oakley and Sam McSpadden.

Among the highlights in singles were the Monarchs' two ranked duos capturing at least one 6-0 set. No. 18 Harel Srugo won his No. 1 singles match 6-1, 6-0 over Aleksey Kochetov, while No. 25 Henrique Cancado earned a 6-0, 6-2 No. 2 singles victory against Bryan Oakley.

Alex Seleznev clinched the win in his No. 3 singles match. The second year Monarch edged out Stphen Whitwell in three sets. After taking the first set, 6-2, Seleznev fell 4-6 in the second set, but rebounded with a 6-0 third set for the Monarch win.

Other singles wins included Eigy Igarashi's 6-3, 6-2 victory over Matt Peller at No. 4 singles, Rodrigo Souza's come from behind 1-6, 6-3, 1-0 win at No. 5 singles against Brian Walters, and Yakov Diskin's 6-4, 6-1 decision over Sam McSpadden at the No. 6 spot.

No. 30 Old Dominion 7, East Carolina 0

No. 1 - Igarashi/Seleznev (ODU) def. Kochetov/Walters (ECU); 8-4
No. 2 - Cancado/Diskin (ODU) def. Peeler/Whitwell (ECU); 8-2
No. 3 - Dom Manilla/Souza (ODU) def. McSpadden/Oakley (ECU); 8-6
Order of finish 2,1,3

No. 1 - No. 18 Harel Srugo (ODU) def. Aleksey Kochetov (ECU); 6-1, 6-0
No. 2 - No. 25 Henrique Cancado (ODU) def. Bryan Oakley (ECU); 6-0, 6-2
No. 3 - Aleksandr Seleznev (ODU) def. Stephen Whitwell (ECU); 6-2, 4-6, 6-0
No. 4 - Eidy Igarashi (ODU) def. Matt Peeler (ECU); 6-3, 6-2
No. 5 - Rodrigo Souza (ODU) def. Brian Walters (ECU); 1-6, 6-3, 1-0
No. 6 - Yakov Diskin (ODU) def. Sam McSpadden (ECU); 6-4, 6-1

Order of finish 1,2,3,4,5,6