Monarch Wrestling Falls to Virginia & Kent State

February 02, 2002
By ODU Athletics
ODU Sports

Feb. 2, 2002

Charlottesville, VA-The Old Dominion wrestling team fell to Virginia and Kent State this afternoon at the 2002 Virginia Quad. UVA defeated the Monarchs 27-19 and the Golden Flashes prevailed 40-11 over ODU.

The Monarchs were forced to juggle their lineup as injuries continue to affect the team. Old Dominion was forced to forfeit at 149 and 157 against Kent State and several wrestlers had to compete in different weight classes throughout the day.

Against Virginia, the Monarchs led the match after five bouts, but surrendered back-to-back pins at 141 and 149 and never regained momentum.

Individually, two Monarchs had an outstanding day. Junior Ben Summerlin (Lynchburg, VA) and senior Jeff Rusak (Reading, PA) picked up two wins each. Summerlin recorded a pin against Kent State's Shawn Wentz and a decision over Virginia's Will Durkee, while Rusak picked up two wins at 184. The senior pinned UVA's Steve Mazzola and hung a 18-2 technical fall on Kent State's Ben Rings.

Rusak, ranked fourth nationally, remains undefeated at 22-0 with 11 pins so far in 2001-2002.

Old Dominion will return to action on February 7, when they travel to CAA foe James Madison.

2002 Virginia Quad
1. Kent State 3-0
2. Virginia 2-1
3. ODU 0-2
4. Howard 0-2

Kent State 40, ODU 11 184 Jeff Rusak (ODU) TF Ben Rings, 18-2 197 Zeb Miller (KS) def. Brad Krepps, 11-3 285 Jim Swetter (KS) WBF Derrell Lorthridge, 5:36 125 Jared Opfer (KS) def. John Starkes, 3-1 133 Joe DiMichele (KS) def. Wan Kanthula, 13-2 141 Mark Wentz (KS) TF Blake Romano, 22-6 149 Ryan Simmons (KS) wins by forfeit 157 Joe Charlton (KS) wins by forfeit 165 Ben Summerlin (ODU) WBF Shawn Wentz, 2:59 174 Nick Nemeth (KS) WBF Dave Kaplan, 6:06

Virginia 27, ODU 19 184 Jeff Rusak (ODU) WBF Steve Mazzola, 4:42 197 Andrew DeMartino (UVA) def. Greg Gill, 4-2 285 Ryan Painter (UVA) def. Derrell Lorthridge, 2-1 125 John Starkes (ODU) def. Ryan Stewart, 17-5 133 Paul Jimenez (ODU) wins by forfeit 141 Bob Seidel (UVA) WBF Blake Romano, 1:27 149 Paul Bjorlo (UVA) WBF Mark Clark, 1:48 157 Tim Foley (UVA) wins by forfeit 165 Don Carlo-Clauss (UVA) def. Dave Kaplan, 9-8 174 Ben Summerlin (ODU) def. Will Durkee, 6-4