Lady Monarchs' Wosczyna Named To U.S. Women's Lacrosse Developmental Team

June 03, 2003
By ODU Athletics
ODU Sports

June 3, 2003

BALTIMORE, MD - Old Dominion junior midfielder Suzanne Wosczyna was one of forty-eight of the nation's top female lacrosse players named to the United States Women's Elite and Developmental lacrosse teams for 2003-04, as announced today by US Lacrosse.

Elite team head coach Sue Stahl, who also is the head coach at Old Dominion, and Developmental team head coach Sue Murphy, head coach at Richmond, headed up a selection committee that named the teams from a pool of applicants that competed in recent tryouts.

The teams will practice together, play exhibition scrimmages against college teams and serve as clinicians for the US Lacrosse Women's Division National Clinic Month activities scheduled for February 2004. US Lacrosse conducts clinics for youth players at locations throughout the country to help aid in the growth of the sport. Wosczyna, who is one of 24 athletes on the Developmental squad, is a two-time All-American and three-time All-CAA selection. She has led the Lady Monarchs in scoring each of her past three seasons, including a nation leading 6.42 points per game and 2.67 assists per game this past season.

In 2003, Wosczyna, became ODU's all-time leading scorer in just her third season on the squad, helping lead the Lady Monarch women's lacrosse team to a 12-4 overall mark and the finals of the CAA Tournament for the second straight season. Additionally, she was a Tewaaraton Trophy nominee for the nation's top women's lacrosse player. The junior midfielder accumulated 77 points in 2003 with 45 goals and 32 assists and holds a career mark of 149 points, 91 goals, and 240 assists.

Wosczyna is the second Lady Monarch to be named to the Developmental squad. Former ODU standout Takiyah Gettys (1995-98) was also a member of the U.S. Developmental squad in 1998. In past years, two Lady Monarchs have served on the national team, Barb DiArcangelo (1992-93) and recent ODU Hall of Fame inductee, Ericka Davidheiser (1992-95).

US Lacrosse, a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization, is the national governing body of men's and women's lacrosse. To learn more, visit its web site at

The Elite and Developmental Teams:

U.S. Elite Team 2003-04
(Name, College, Year Graduated)
Lauren Aumiller, Virginia, 2003
Quinn Carney, Maryland, 2001
Joanne Connelly, Penn State, 1997
Kara Cooke, Virginia, 1998
Michele DeJuliis, Penn State, 1998
Erin Elbe, Georgetown, 2002
Randall Flynn, Maryland, 1997
Danielle Gallagher, William & Mary, 1989
Cherie Greer, Virginia, 1994
Sarah Hughes, Dartmouth, 2002
Alex Kahoe, Maryland, 2000
Kate Kaiser, Duke, 2003
Lauri Kenis, Virginia, 2002
Sarah Nelson, Harvard, 1994
Kinsley O'Garrow, George Mason, 2000
Bonnie Rosen, Virginia, 1993
Crista Samaras, Princeton, 1999
Gina Sambus, Virginia, 2003
Julie Shaner, Princeton, 2001
Lucy Small, Princeton, 1999
Kristin Sommar, Maryland, 2000
Kellie Thompson, North Carolina, 2002
Acacia Walker, Maryland, 2005
Jessica Wilk, Maryland, 1990

U.S. Developmental Team 2003-04 (Name, College, Year Graduated) Amy Altig, James Madison, 2005 Amy Appelt, Virginia, 2005 Rachael Becker, Princeton, 2003 Lindsey Biles, Princeton, 2005 Cary Chasney, Virginia, 2005 Katie Chrest, Duke, 2006 Colleen Christopher, New Hampshire, 2001 Kim Connors, Virginia, 2006 Kelly Coppedge, Maryland, 2004 Delia Cox, Maryland, 2006 Suzanne Eyler, Loyola, 2002 Meg Miller, Duke, 2004 Polly Purcell, Richmond, 2004 Stephy Samaras, Virginia, 2000 Julie Shank, Maryland, 2003 Danielle Shearer, Notre Dame, 2003 Anne Sheridan, Boston University, 2005 Tara Singleton, Loyola, 2004 Lana Smith, Dartmouth, 2004 Steph Sweet, Loyola, 2000 Rachel Szakmary, North Carolina, 2004 Devon Wills, Dartmouth, 2006 Jami Wilus, LaSalle, 2002 Suzanne Wosczyna, Old Dominion, 2004