Coutu and Bernardini Grab All-State Women's Soccer Honors

December 21, 2009
By ODU Athletics
ODU Sports

Dec. 21, 2009

NORFOLK, Va. -- The Virginia Sports Information Director's (VaSID) released the All-State Women's Soccer team today, including a pair of Lady Monarchs honored as a part of the second team. Sophomore defender Lisa Bernardini and freshman forward Ashlee Coutu each earned the 2009 honor.

Bernardini was a leader on the back line for Old Dominion this season, starting all 20 games on defense. She led the team in minutes and anchored a defense that ranked third in the CAA in goals against (18) and goals against average (0.90). She helped the Lady Monarchs seal seven shutouts this season and held 15 opponents to one goal or fewer, while also notching her first career assist in a neutral site game against Arizona.

The sophomore from Langhorne, Pa. was named a Second Team All-CAA defender by a vote of the league head coaches.

Coutu, a true freshman, was the team leader on offense for ODU in 2009, scoring nine goals and 22 total points on the year. A starting forward in all 20 contests her first year, Coutu earned Third Team All-CAA honors up front and was also named to the CAA All-Rookie squad. She had five gamewinners on the year, ranking third in the conference, and also tied for fifth in the league in goals scored while ranking sixth in the CAA in points.

Her season was one of the best ever for a newcomer in program history, tying teammate Victoria Johnson for second on the all-time rookie goals scored list and just three points back of Johnson for second in all-time points for a rookie.

ODU finished the season with a 7-8-5 record, including a 3-4-4 mark in CAA play.

2009 VaSID University Division Women's Soccer Teams
(Selected by voting from the Virginia Sports Information Directors)

First Team
F - Laura Alawine, So., Virginia
F - Marika Gray, Jr., Virginia Tech
F - Corky Julien, Sr., James Madison
F - Tiana Kallenberger, Fr., George Mason (At Large)
MF - Omolyn Davis, R-Jr., George Mason
MF - Sinead Farrelly, Jr., Virginia
MF - Teresa Rynier, Jr., James Madison
D - Audrey Falconi, Sr., VMI
D - Teri Maykoski, Sr., James Madison
D - Diana Weigel, So., William & Mary
GK - Chantel Jones, So., Virginia

Second Team
F - Ashlee Coutu, Fr., Old Dominion
F - Maria Owen, Jr., Liberty
F - Cate Tisinger, Jr., James Madison
MF - Silvia Betancourt, So., Liberty
MF - Kelsey Conheeney, Fr., Virginia Tech
MF - Jennifer Harvey, Jr., Virginia Tech
D - Lisa Bernardini, So., Old Dominion
D - Myriam Bourchard, Jr., VCU
D - Jackie Cozza, Sr., Radford
GK - Katie Frey, Fr., George Mason
GK - Angela Redmond, Jr., VMI (At Large)

Player of the Year
Corky Julian, James Madison

Rookie of the Year
Tiana Kallenberger, George Mason

Coach of the Year
Kelly Cagle, Virginia Tech