Loughton and Hunter Earn All-CAA Honors

March 02, 2006
By ODU Athletics
ODU Sports

March 2, 2006

RICHMOND, VA-- Seniors Alex Loughton and Isaiah Hunter were again named to the Colonial Athletic Association's All-Conference squad. Loughton to second team and Hunter on third team.

Loughton, who earlier in the week was named to the ESPN the Magazine Academic All-America third team was named to the CAA All-Academic squad. The Monarchs open the CAA tournament Saturday as the number four seed and will play at 2:30 against the winner of the Northeastern/James Madison contest.

Northeastern University senior guard Jose Juan Barea (Mayaguez, Puerto Rico/Miami Christian) was named the 2006 Colonial Athletic Association men's basketball Player of the Year in voting by the league's head coaches, sports information directors and members of the media. The announcement was made Thursday night at the league's pre-tournament awards banquet in Richmond, Va.

Also receiving top honors were UNC Wilmington's Brad Brownell as the CAA Coach of the Year, James Madison freshman forward Juwann James (Jacksonville, Fla./Raines) as the CAA Rookie of the Year, Northeastern sophomore forward Shawn James (Brooklyn, N.Y./Notre Dame Prep) as the CAA Defensive Player of the Year and UNC Wilmington senior guard John Goldsberry (Vandalia, Ohio/Butler) as the recipient of the Dean Ehlers Leadership Award.


First Team All-CAA Jose Juan Barea, Northeastern, Sr, G Nick George, VCU, Sr, F, Jai Lewis, George Mason,Sr, F. Harding Nana, Delaware Sr. F Loren Stokes, Hofstra, Jr. G

Second Team All-CAA Antoine Agudio, Hofstra, So. G, John Goldsberry, UNC Wilmington Sr.G. Alex Loughton, Old Dominion Sr. F/C. Gary Neal, Towson Jr. G Tony Skinn, George Mason Sr, G.

Third Team All-CAA T.J. Carter, UNC Wilmington, JR. G. Lawrence Hamm, Towson Sr.F. Isaiah Hunter, Old Dominion, Sr, G Shawn James, Northeastern So.F Dominick Mejia, Drexel Jr.G

2006 CAA Player of the Year - Jose Juan Barea, Northeastern 2006 CAA Coach of the Year - Brad Brownell, UNC Wilmington 2006 CAA Rookie of the Year - Juwann James, James Madison 2006 CAA Defensive Player of the Year - Shawn James, Northeastern 2006 Dean Ehlers Leadership Award - John Goldsberry, UNC Wilmington

CAA All-Rookie Team Calvin Baker, William & Mary,Fr.,G Rashad Chase, Georgia State, Fr.F. Tim Crossin, Towson, Fr..G. Juwann James, James Madison Fr. F Zaire Taylor, Delaware Fr.G 6-4

CAA All-Defensive Team Chaz Crawford, Drexel John Goldsberry, UNC Wilmington Shawn James, Northeastern Bashir Mason, Drexel Will Thomas, George Mason

CAA All-Academic Team Gabriel Chami, James Madison John Goldsberry, UNC Wilmington Dejan Grkovic, UNC Wilmington Alex Loughton, Old Dominion Kenell Sanchez, Drexel Hawley Smith, William & Mary Beckham Wyrick, UNC Wilmington ALL-CAA VOTING TOTALS