Big Blue's Kids Club

Davidheiser, Wosczyna and Large Headline All-Time ODU Lacrosse Squad

Courtesy: ODU Athletics
Release: June 02, 2006
Print RSS
Article Image

June 2, 2006

NORFOLK, VA--In celebration of the 75th anniversary of Old Dominion University, it was announced today that Erika Davidheiser ('95), Cathy Large ('88) and Suzanne Wosczyna ('04) headline the 11-member all-time ODU Lady Monarch lacrosse squad as voted by the fans on the ODU athletic website.

Davidheiser earned first team All-American honors in 1994 and 1995 and helped lead ODU to the 1995 CAA title with 28 goals. Cathy Large ranked third nationally in scoring in 1987 with 67 goals while Sue Wosczyna, a three time All-American is the Lady Monarchs all-time scorer with 206 career goals, 119 assists and 325 points.

Rounding out the team are: Barb DiArcangelo ('94), Carly Brown ('87), Ann Windover ('94), Kailynne Ross ('99), Jen Deckelman ('93), Karen Davis ('92), Heather Walden ('95), and Dana Wisniewski (`01).

Erika Davidheiser ('95)led ODU in scoring with 27 goals in 1992 and tied Dana Dana Kuchta with 21 assists in 1995. She was named to the Brine /WLCA first team All-American in 1994 and 1995. She is currently ODU's eighth all-time scorer with 119 points. She was inducted into the ODU Sports Hall of Fame in 2003 Erika was also a member of the U.S. National Team.

Cathy Large ('88) was an All-American in both lacrosse and field hockey at ODU. She led the Lady Monarchs in scoring four straight years, including 67 goals in 1987 which ranked second nationally. She was selected to the Brine/WLCA second team All- American in 1988. Large was inducted into the ODU Sports Hall of Fame in 1993.

Carly Brown ('98)was an honorable mention All-American in 1997. She led the Lady Monarchs in assists in 1996 and 1998. She also led the Lady Monarchs in goals scored with 44 in 1997 and 32 in 1998.

Suzanne Wosczyna ('04) is the only three-time All-American in Lady Monarch lacrosse history. She earned second team honors in 2002 and third team honors in 2003 and 2004. In 2003, she helped lead the Lady Monarchs to a 12-4 overall record and a 7-0 CAA mark and top seed in the conference championships. ODU's all-time scorer with 206 goals, 119 assists and 325 points led the Lady Monarchs in goals and assists four straight years.

Barb DiArcangelo ('93)led he Lady Monarchs in the net with 192 saves in 1993 and 154 in 1992. She earned honorable mention All-American honors from Brine IWLCA In 1993 and second team honors in 1994. Barb was also a member of the US National squad. She was named CAA Player of the Year in 1993.

Anne Windover ('96)led the Lady Monarchs in scoring four straight years, including a 50 goal season in 1994. She also led the team with 16 assists in 1994. Windover is the Lady Monarchs second all-time scorer with 165 career goals, 39 assists and 204 career points. Windover was an honorable mention All-American in 1993 and second team selection in 1994.

Jen Deckelman ('93) earned IWLCA All-South Region honors three straight years and was a member of the Virginia Regional select team from 1991-95. She also earned All-CAA honors in 1993 and 1992.

Karen Davis ('92) earned Brine/WLCA Honorable Mention All-American honors in 1992. Davis also earned All-CAA honors in 1992 and IWLCA All-South Region in 1991 and 1992.

Heather Walden (Holt) ('95)is the Lady Monarchs fourth all-time leader in goals against Average (7.16) and fifth in save percentage (.599). She earned second team All-CAA honors in 1995 as the Lady Monarchs captured the CAA crown. Heather is the current assistant coach for the Lady Monarchs.

Dana Wisniewski ('01)earned first team All-CAA honors in 2000 and 2001. She was named the Lady Monarchs team MVP in 2001. Wisniewski was a three-time CAA All-Academic selection and was a 2001 Academic All-American.

Kailynne Ross ('99) is the Lady Monarchs ninth all-time goal scorer with 86. She was an Academic All-American in 1999 and earned second team All-CAA honors in 1998 and first team honors in 1999.

Receiving honorable mention votes were: Shelly Behrens ('88), Amy Duerr ('95), Jill Fisher ('89), Jackie Grady ('87), Rachel Edlich ('91), Amy Cordes "92), Danielle Hensil ('03), Jenn Karr ('95), Meagan Petrie ('97), Pam Seebald ('00), Lenore Tornetta ('87), Dana Kuchta ('96), Takiyah Gettys ('98), Adele Mears ('84) and Brooke Thomas ('02). The next all-time team to be selected will be sailing.


Big Blue's Kids Club
Tickets the Troops 2016
ODAF Donor Spotlight