Four Former Lady Monarchs Named To The 2008 Olympic Field Hockey Team

June 24, 2008
By ODU Athletics
ODU Sports

June 24, 2008

VIRGINIA BEACH, VA. -- USA Field Hockey today announced on Monday night the 16-member 2008 U.S. Olympic Team, which will include four former Lady Monarchs on the roster. Tiffany Snow (Escondido, Calif.), Angie Loy (Loysville, Va.), Dana Sensenig (Denver, Pa.), and Caroline Nichols (Va. Beach, Va.) will be among the 16 members representing the United States as the U.S. field hockey team travels to Beijing for the first U.S. field hockey Olympic Games appearance since 1996.

Snow ('03) was field hockey's sixth Honda Award winner in 2002 after leading the country in points and goals per game during her senior campaign. The 2002 CAA Player of the Year, she finished her career ranked sixth on the Old Dominion all-time goals leaders list (71) and also ranks sixth on the all-time points leaders list (182). Snow was a two-time First Team All-American, earning the honors in 2001 and 2002. She was also a member of the 2000 national championship squad, Old Dominion field hockey's ninth national title, and the 2002 squad, which reached the Final Four.

Loy ('05) was named the CAA Rookie of the Year in 2000 and CAA Player of the Year and Tournament MVP in 2003. She ranks fourth at Old Dominion in points (210), fifth in career goals (77), and ninth in career assists (56). A two-time First Team All-American, capturing the accolades in 2002 and 2003, Loy was also a member of the 2000 national championship squad and the 2003 squad that advanced to the Final Four.

Sensenig ('06) is tied for eighth all-time in points (171) and ranks 10th in assists (53) in the ODU record books. She was the CAA Tournament MVP in 2005 in a season which Old Dominion reached the Final Four. Sensenig earned All-American status three times by the NFHCA during her career with nods to the Second Team in 2005 and Third Team in 2004 and 2006.

Nichols ('06) became the first CAA student-athlete in history to sweep CAA Player and Defender of the Year honors in the same season, doing so during her senior campaign in 2006. During that season she was also named a First Team All-American by the NFHCA and the VaSID Player of the Year in the state of Virginia. A top defense woman, she helped the Lady Monarchs to 12 shutouts in 2006 and seven in 2005.

The USA Field Hockey Women's National Team is coached by Lee Bodimeade. A Queensland, Australia native, Bodimeade won a silver medal at the 1992 Olympic Games as a member of the Australian field hockey national team.

Prior to Beijing, the U.S. National Team will participate in a four nation tournament in Bremen, Germany with Korea, India, and Germany from July 4-6. They complete their tour with a three game series against the Netherlands, ranked number one in the world, on July 9-12.

The U.S. National Team opens Olympic Games competition on Sunday, August 10 against 2007 Pan American champions Argentina. The United States is slotted in Pool B with Argentina, Germany, Great Britain, Japan and New Zealand.

All U.S. field hockey matches will be televised by NBC. USA Field Hockey Men's National Team head coach Nick Conway will provide commentary.

The Old Dominion field hockey team has strong ties to the Olympic games. A total of 15 former Lady Monarchs have gone on to participate in the Olympic games, five of them having earned medals. Willimien Aardenburg ('84), Carina Benninga ('80), and Ingrid Wolf ('83) helped the Dutch team to the bronze medal in 1984, while Maacha van der Vaart ('90) also helped the Netherlands to bronze in 2000 and the silver in 2004. NCAA leading scorer Marina DiGiacomo ('00) was a member of Argentina's national squad which captured bronze in 2004.

The U.S.'s last appearance in the Olympic Games during the 1996 Atlanta games included former Lady Monarchs Kelli James ('92) and Jill Reeve ('92). The team finished in fifth place.

Old Dominion student-athletes are not the only ones with strong ties to the Olympic Games. Head coach Beth Anders and assistant coach Gwen Alexander were members of the 1984 bronze medal team. Anders set an Olympic scoring record in 1984 that still stands today. The U.S. team scored nine goals, with eight coming from the stick of Anders.

The four former Lady Monarchs join fellow former Old Dominion student-athletes Anna Tunnicliffe ('05), Debbie Capozzi ('03), Sally Barkow ('02), and Charlie Ogletree ('89) from Sailing, and USA Basketball head coach Anne Donovan ('83) at the 2008 Olympic Games in Beijing.

For more information about USA Field Hockey, visit