Brandon Johnson Named CAA Defenseive Player of the Year

March 06, 2008
By ODU Athletics
ODU Sports

March 6, 2008

RICHMOND, VA--Old Dominion University senior guard Brandon Johnson (Orlando, FL.) has been named Colonial Athletic Association's Defensive Player of The Year as voted on by the league's head coaches and media. Sophomore forward Gerald Lee (Finland) was named to the second team All-CAA squad and junior forward Jonathan Adams (Ringgold, GA.) was named second team CAA All-Academic.

ODU (17-14) opens the CAA Tournament as the number four seed and will play the Winner of the William and Mary-Georgia State game Saturday at 2:30 p.m. at the Richmond (Va.) Coliseum.

Johnson currently averages 2.8 steals per game which ranks him seventh nationally. His 86 steals is a new ODU single season mark and second best in CAA single season history. Johnson currently has 233 career steals which rank him second all-time at ODU and fourth all-time in the CAA.

ODU's all-time record is 295 by Frank Smith (1984-88) who is an assistant coach at Clemson University. Johnson broke Smith's single season mark last weekend at UNC Wilmington when he came up with four steals on the night. The single season CAA Record is also 295 held by Jarion Childs (1997-00) from American University. Brandon is two steals shy of catching Lester Lyons (ECU, 1989-94) for third place on the CAA All-time list. Johnson is a two-time selection on the CAA All-Defensive squad.

The 6-10 Lee led ODU in scoring at 12.9 ppg, and rebounding at 6.0. During the year, Lee had 20 points and eight rebounds against Louisville and 24 points, 12 boards against Georgetown, and 12 points and 12 boards against Northeastern. Lee is the only Monarch who has started all 31 games this season.

Adams, a criminal justice and psychology major averaged 6.4 points and 4.2 rebounds per game. He was the 2007 CAA Scholar Athlete of the Year. He scored his career high of 16 points against UNC Wilmington. Sam Harris was one of the finalist for the Dean Ehlers award which was won by UNCW's Todd Hundley.


FIRST TEAM Antoine Agudio (Hofstra) T.J. Carter (UNCW) Eric Maynor (VCU) Jamal Shuler (VCU) Will Thomas (George Mason) SECOND TEAM Folarin Campbell (George Mason) Frank Elegar (Drexel) Matt Janning (Northeastern) Vladimir Kuljanin (UNCW) Gerald Lee (ODU)

THIRD TEAM Herb Courtney (Delaware) Marc Egerson (Delaware) Junior Hariston (Towson) Abdulai Jailoh (James Madison) Laimis Kisielus (W&M) Leonard Mendez (Ga. State)

ALL DEFENSIVE Frank Elegar (Drexel) Brandon Johnson (ODU) Larry Sanders (VCU) Jamal Shuler (VCU) Will Thomas (George Mason)

PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Eric Maynor-VCU COACH OF THE YEAR: Tony Shaver-W&M ROOKIE OF THE YEAR: Charles Jenkins-Hofstra DEF. PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Brandon Johnson -ODU