Out With the Old? Never

August 24, 2007
By ODU Athletics

Aug. 24, 2007

By Elliot Olshansky

Six years really isn't that long to wait between titles, is it?

It might be when you've never had to wait that long before.

The NCAA began sponsoring a championship in field hockey in 1981, and it didn't take long for Old Dominion to start winning. The Monarchs captured the crown for the first time in 1982 and followed with two more in quick succession. Connecticut won its second title in 1985 to break the streak, but ODU came back to win in 1988 and started another run of three titles in 1990. North Carolina entered what had previously been the sole dominion of the Monarchs in 1997 when the Tar Heels won their third straight title, but Old Dominion returned to the pinnacle again in 1998 and 2000.

Since the first year of the NCAA championship, only the classes of 1996 and 1997 had gone without titles after four years at Old Dominion. Now, though, Monarchs head coach Beth Anders has graduated three straight classes without national championships.

Not that she chooses to see it that way, of course.

To read the rest of the story, please click here.

MORE IN Field Hockey

Big East

Video Recap: Coach Griffiths on Senior Day, Loss to #1 UNC, 2018 Season
Video Recap: Coach Griffiths on OT Loss to Villanova
Video Recap: Griffiths, Birch Talk 3-0 Win at Quinnipiac