Men's Soccer Picked to Win CAA Soccer Title in 2004

August 11, 2004
By ODU Athletics
ODU Sports

Aug. 11, 2004

RICHMOND, VA -The Old Dominion University men's soccer team has been picked to win the Colonial Athletic Association title in 2004, according to a vote of the league's 10 head coaches. The Monarchs, who went 15-4-1 last season, returns four of its top five scorers and its entire backline from last year's squad. The Monarchs received seven first-place votes and 78 total points to earn the top spot in the poll.


ODU opened last season with a school-record 14 consecutive victories, including 11 by shutout, and achieved the highest national ranking in school history after rising to #2 in the national polls for four straight weeks in October. The Monarchs are ranked #8 by College Soccer News in its 2004 pre-season Top 30 poll. ODU's top returnee is senior defender Trevor McEachron (Woodbridge, VA), who earned first-team All-American and CAA Defender of the Year honors in 2003, and is one of 25 players on the pre-season watch list for the Hermann Trophy, awarded to the top collegiate soccer player in the nation.


Also back for the Monarchs are first-team All-CAA midfielder Kevon Harris (Kingston, Jamaica), who tallied for goals and five assists a year ago, and second-team All-CAA forward Brian Cvilikas (Highlands Ranch, CO), who tired for the team lead with 10 goals in 2003. VCU, last year's CAA winner, was picked to finish second, receiving two first-place votes and 70 points overall.


The Monarchs will host NC State Saturday, August 28 at 7:00 PM, in exhibition action, before opening their regular season Wednesday, September 1, taking on Campbell at 7:00 PM.


2004 CAA Men's Soccer Pre-Season Coaches Poll


1. Old Dominion (7 first-place votes)             78

2. Virginia Commonwealth (2 first-place votes)   70

3. George Mason (1 first-place vote)                  61

4. William & Mary                                             60

5. James Madison                                              51

6. UNC-Wilmington                                          43

7. Hofstra                                                          33

8. Drexel                                                           28

9. Towson                                                         16

10. Delaware                                                     10


(Teams received 9 points for a first-place vote, 8 for second, etc. Coaches were not allowed to vote for their own team.)