Tunnicliffe ('05) & Ogletree ('89) Qualify For 2008 Olympic Games

October 15, 2007
By ODU Athletics
ODU Sports

Oct. 15, 2007

PORTSMOUTH, RI-- Old Dominion University alumni sailing standouts Anna Tunnicliffe ('05) and 2004 Olympic silver medalist Charlie Ogletree ('89) won their respective events and will represent the United States in the 2008 games in Beijing, China, August 8-24. They will join another ODU great at the games, basketball Hall of Famer Anne Donovan ('83), the U.S. women's basketball head coach. USA basketball defeated Cuba, 101-71 last month in Chile.

Tunnicliffe, a three-time collegiate national champion and current number one ranked U.S. sailor won the Laser Radial title by five points over Paige Railey of St. Petersburg, Fl.. Tunnicliffe posted 24 points with nine first place finishes. Leading by four points going into the final day of racing, Tunnicliffe needed only to finish third or better to seal the title.

This will be Charlie Ogletree's fourth straight Olympic appearance. He teamed with John Lovell to win the Tornado Class by one point over Robbie Daniel and Hunter Stunzi of Charleston, SC. Ogletree and Lovell who both turned 40 last Thursday had to win the last four races to qualify, and they did just that.

Brad Funk ('02) tied for first in the laser radial with Andrew Campbell at 44 points, but Campbell was awarded the spot on a tie-breaker as he had five first place finishes to Brad's four. ODU sophomore Kyle Rogachenko finished 13th with 187 points. Campbell sailed into the final day with a five-point lead which Funk erased by winning the 15th race while Campbell finished seventh to give Funk a one-point lead, but in the final race, Campbell took second and Funk third to tie for the lead.

Tornado Class
1.John Lovell & Charlie Ogletree 22;
2.Robbie Daniel and Hunter Stunzi (23);
3. Norman and Gary Chu (60),
4. Colin Merrick and John Sampson (60),
5. Ollie Jason and Patrick Gilles (61).

Women's Laser Radial 1.Anna Dunnicliffe (24); 2. Paige Railey (29), 3. Sara Lihan (62), 4. Anne Haeger (71); 5. Katie Maxim (85).

Men's Laser Radial 1. Andrew Campbell (44), 2. Brad Funk (44), 3. Clay Johnson (86); 4. Trevor Moore (103); 5. John Pearce (115); 13th Kyle Rogachenko of ODU (187).