Monarch Maniacs
Fan Appreciation Night 2014
Soccer Voucher Books 2014
Football Style Guide 2014
Taylor's Tally
Stihl Soccer Classic 2014 Above Header
Tickets for Troops
College Colors Day

Monarch Wrestling Ends Five Match Skid, Defeating Campbell 32-7

Courtesy: ODU Athletics
Release: February 07, 2004
Send this article to a friend Print RSS
Article Image

Feb. 7, 2004

NORFOLK, VA - The Old Dominion wrestling team ended a five match losing streak at home Saturday afternoon, defeating the Campbell Camels 32-7 at the ODU Fieldhouse. ODU improves to 4-10 for the season and 3-3 in Colonial Athletic Association action, while Campbell drops to 2-12 and 2-6 in the CAA.

Campbell got on the board first, when Andy Bricker earned a tech. fall. over Jared Smith (Newport News, VA) in the 125 weight class by a 26-10 score, putting the Camels on top 4-0 early. Chris Buckner (Chesapeake, VA), in the 133 class, took out Jordan Henning by a 14-7 decision to bring the Monarchs to within one point of Campbell, 4-3. Adam Bricker, then, took a 4-1 decision over Jason Earnhardt (Yorktown, VA) in the 141 class to give Campbell the 7-3 lead, but the Camels would be unable to put another point on the board for the duration of the meet.

Dennis Whitby (Lanoke Harbor, NJ) sparked the Monarch turnaround, pinning Elliot Berger (F 1:01) in the 149 class. Jesse Pearce (Norfolk, VA), then took the victory at 157, by injury forfeit over Jeff Lyons. John Adams (Chesapeake, VA) took a 16-0 tech. fall. over Joshua Kalafchi at 165, followed by a 10-3 decision by Rob Gosnell (Warrenton, VA) at 174 over Brian Hocum. Adam Wright (Dayton, VA) earned a 8-6 decision over Lantz Nixon in the 184 weight class, then Matt Ulrey (St. Mary's, MI) took the 6-4 decision over Mark Averall in the 197 class. Derrell Lorthridge (Wilmington, DE) took the 7-3 decision in the Heavyweight class over Dennis Campbell, to cap off the impressive 32-7 performance by the Monarchs.

ODU returns to action next Saturday, taking on the University of Maryland and UNC-Greensboro at the ODU Fieldhouse. Action begins at 12:00 PM.

ODU 32, Campbell 7

Home/Visitor 125: Andy Bricker (CU) TF 26-10 Jared Smith (ODU) 0-4 133: Chris Buckner (ODU) dec. 14-7 Jordan Henning (CU) 3-4 141: Adam Bricker (CU) dec. 4-1 Jason Earnhardt (ODU) 3-7 149: Dennis Whitby (ODU) F 1:01 Elliot Berger (CU) 9-7 157: Jesse Pearce (ODU) inj. forf. Jeff Lyons (CU) 15-7 165: John Adams (ODU) TF 16-0 Joshua Kalafchi (CU) 20-7 174: Rob Gosnell (ODU) dec. 10-3 Brian Hocum (CU) 23-7 184: Adam Wright (ODU) dec. 8-6 Lantz Nixon (CU) 26-7 197: Matt Ulrey (ODU) dec. 6-4 Mark Averall (CU) 29-7 Hwt: Derrell Lorthridge (ODU) dec. 7-3 Dennis Campbell (CU) 32-7


Soccer Voucher Books 2014
Stihl Soccer Classic 2014 Ad Belt
College Colors Day
Style Guide 2014
Fan Appreciation Night 2014
Tickets the Troops
Uploaded Ad
ODAF Donor Spotlight
Monarch Media