Joe Pereira Named CAA Women's Soccer Coach of the Year

November 04, 2004
By ODU Athletics
ODU Sports

Nov. 4, 2004

RICHMOND, VA  -Old Dominion women's soccer head coach Joe Pereira was named Colonial Athletic Association Coach of the Year for 2004, as selected by the head women's soccer coaches of the CAA. Junior Forward Laura Beeman (Chalfont, PA) and Junior Defender Kim Snyder (Virginia Beach, VA/Tallwood) were also named to the All-CAA Women's Soccer First Team.

Head Coach Joe Pereira receives his second CAA Coach of the Year award--also winning the honor in 1998--after the Lady Monarchs finished 9-8-2 overall and 5-3-1 in the CAA. The 5-3-1 record was the first winning conference record for ODU since the 2000 season and helped the Lady Monarchs qualify for the six-team CAA Tournament for the first time since 2001. In one of the closest CAA women's soccer races in history, the Lady Monarchs' 16 points were only two fewer than the #1 seed VCU.

The Lady Monarchs won four straight CAA games for the first time in program history and briefly took the lead in the standings in the penultimate weekend of the regular season. ODU qualified for the CAA tournament as a #6 seed, falling to #3 seed William & Mary 1-0 in Williamsburg Tuesday night.

Laura Beeman led the Lady Monarchs in scoring with 26 points (10 goals, six assists) this season, earning CAA Player of the Week honors Oct. 11 for scoring the game-winning penalty kick against William & Mary in overtime. Kim Snyder was an anchor to the Lady Monarch defense that allowed only 18 goals in 17 games.

VCU's Sandra Anger was named CAA Player of the Year, George Mason's Sarah Coughlin was named CAA Defender of the Year and Hofstra's Marie Curtin was named CAA Rookie of the Year.

2004 All-CAA Women's Soccer Team

First Team
Jen Parson's, Virginia Commonwealth
Laura Beeman, Old Dominion
Katie Hogwood, William & Mary
Sandra Anger, Virginia Commonwealth
Emma Kilduff, Hofstra
Shannon Alger, Delaware
Katie Kane, Drexel
Marie Curtin, Hofstra
Katy Swindells, James Madison
Kim Snyder, Old Dominion
Sarah Coughlin, George Mason

Second Team
Taline Tahmassian, William & Mary
Sarah Wilkinson, George Mason
Solfrid Andersen, Virginia Commonwealth
Caroline Renkin, UNC-Wilmington|
Kristin McHugh, Towson
Jenny Cauble, UNC-Wilmington
Danielle MacDonald, George Mason
Jennifer Woodie, Virginia Commonwealth
Brigit Canle, Hofstra
Christine Wrightson, Delaware
Allison Cowan, George Mason
Becky Wachsberger, Hofstra

2004 CAA Player of the Year: Sandra Anger, Virginia Commonwealth
2004 CAA Defender of the Year: Sarah Coughlin, George Mason
2004 CAA Rookie of the Year: Marie Curtin, Hofstra
2004 CAA Coach of the Year: Joe Pereira, Old Dominion

2004 CAA All-Rookie Team
Marie Curtin, Hofstra
Solfrid Andersen, Virginia Commonwealth
Jenny Cauble, UNC-Wilmington
Annie Lowry, James Madison
Jessica Paris, George Mason
Alli D'Amico, Delaware
Brittany Bode, William & Mary
Brandi Daniels, Towson
Shelley Lyle, Virginia Commonwealth|
Melanie Schaffer, James Madison
Sarah Fack, George Mason
Mary MacKenzie Grier, William & Mary