ODU Wins MAISA Open, Takes Fifth at America Trophy Race

April 15, 2012
By ODU Athletics
ODU Sports

April 15, 2012

GENEVA, N.Y. – The No. 14 Old Dominion University coed sailing team earned a spot at the ICSA National Championship Semifinals after finishing fifth in an 18-team field at the America Trophy Regatta, which concluded Sunday. The semifinals will take place on May 12-13 in Annapolis, Md.

Ideal winds early on Saturday and in the late afternoon paced day one while Sunday’s weather provided ideal conditions on Seneca Lake all day long. Georgetown won the even and was followed by St. Mary’s College (Md.), host Hobart and William Smith, Navy and ODU rounding out the top five.

Sailing for the Monarchs in the A-Division race was junior skipper Dillon Paiva and sophomore crew Chloe Constants who took sixth with 62 points. Sophomore skipper Brady Stagg and senior crew Emily Reich also placed sixth in the B-Division race with 67 points.

In Annapolis, Md., at the MAISA Spring Open, Old Dominion won the 16-team event with a score of 103. Host Navy made a late charge but fell short, finishing second with 108 points with beautiful breezy conditions on the water all weekend. Sophomore skipper Evan Hoffmann and freshman crew Colin Voigt won the A-Division race with a score of 57 while freshman skippers Daniel Lochner and Jake Spracher combined with sophomore crew Alexa Cavalieri won the B-Division race with a score of 46.

Also in action were the Lady Monarchs as the Emily Wick Trophy Race in New London, Conn. ODU finished in 16th place with 399 points. Sophomore captain Corina Radtke teamed with sophomore crew Shannon Wilkins and senior Jordan Stock took 13th in the A-Division race with 184 points. In the B-Division race, sophomore skipper Rachel Austin along with senior crew Jessica Milligan and Arianna Baker took 16th with 215 points.

Old Dominion returns to action for another busy weekend next weekend when they host the MAISA Women’s Conference Championships in Norfolk in addition to the Admirals Cup in King Point, N.Y. and the Thompson Trophy in New London, Conn.