Baseball Voucher Books 2015
UVA at Harbor Park 2015
Big Blue 5K 2015
Bark in the Park 2015
2015 Football Season Tickets
Spring Football 2015
Monarch Maniacs
Uploaded Ad
Tickets for Troops

Touchdown Club of Columbus Names Heinicke FCS Player of the Year

Courtesy: ODU Athletics
Release: December 13, 2012
Send this article to a friend Print RSS
Article Image

Dec. 13, 2012

COLUMBUS, OHIO - The Touchdown Club of Columbus named Old Dominion sophomore quarterback Taylor Heinicke their 2012 FCS Player of the Year, the TDC announced along with several other awards this week.

Heinicke became the first player in FCS history to throw for 5,000 yards, breaking Steve McNair's record of 4,863 yards he set for Alcorn State in 1994.

A native of Atlanta, Ga., Heinicke led the FCS with 5,076 passing yards, 390.5 passing yards per game, 44 passing touchdowns and 55 total touchdowns.

Along with setting the single-season passing yardage record, Heinicke also set the record for completions with 398. He surpassed Brett Gordon's record of 385 he set for Villanova in 2002.

Heinicke finished the season 398-of-579 for 5,076 yards and 44 touchdowns. He also carried 126 times for 470 yards and 11 touchdowns.

The 58th Touchdown Club of Columbus Sports Awards Banquet is scheduled for Saturday, February 9, 2013 at the Lifestyle Communities Pavilion in Downtown Columbus.

Touchdown Club of Columbus Award Winners
Chic Harley Player of the Year - Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M
Kellen Moore Award - Collin Klein, Kansas State
Bill Willis Award - John Simon, Ohio State
Paul Warfield Award - Marqise Lee, University of Southern California
Jim Brown Award - Montee Ball, Wisconsin
Sammy Baugh Award - Colby Cameron, Louisiana Tech
Jack Lambert Award - Jarvis Jones, Georgia
FCS Player of the Year - Taylor Heinicke, Old Dominion


Football Season Tickets 2015
ODU Spring Football 2015
Baseball Voucher Books 2015
UVA at Harbor Park 2015
Big Blue 5K 2015
March Auctions
Bark in the Park 2015
Tickets the Troops
ODAF Donor Spotlight
Monarch Media