Chris Gatling and Kenny Gattison Honored on the Sun Belt All-Time Team

October 24, 2005
By ODU Athletics
ODU Sports

Oct. 24, 2005

MURFREESBORO, TENN--The Sun Belt Conference announced its All-Time men's and women's basketball teams. Thirty players were selected for each team and ODU's Anne Donovan ('83) was chosen as the All-Time Women's Basketball Player. ODU was a member of the Sun Belt Conference from 1982-1991.

Kenny Gattison ('86) and Chris Gatling ('91) were chosen to the Sun Belt's All-Time men's Basketball teams. Medina Dixon ('85) and Tracy Claxton ('85) were Selected to the Sun Belt's All-Time women's basketball teams.

Gattison was a member of the Sun Belt's All-Decade squad. The 6-8 forward Earned first team All-Sun Belt honors in 1985 and 1986. He was the league's Player Of the Year in 1986. Gattison finished his career with 1,623 career points and 963 career Rebounds and was drafted in the third round by Phoenix. He is currently an assistant Coach with the New Orleans Hornets.

Chris Gatling was the first Monarch basketball player to be selected in the first Round as he was the 16th overall pick by Golden State in 1991. He was a two-time league Player of the Year in 1989 and 1991.

Medina Dixon and Tracy Claxton teamed to help lead the Lady Monarchs to the 1985 NCAA National Championship. The Lady Monarchs were 31-3, defeating Georgia in the title game. Dixon earned first team Kodak All-American honors and Claxton was the NCAA Tournament MVP and earned All-American honors as well. Dixon was the League's Player of the Year in 1985, and was a three-time All-Conference selection, while Claxton was a two-time All-Sun Belt pick. The league will also select All-Time teams from baseball, soccer, golf, tennis and cross country later this year.

All-Time Men's Coach: Gene Bartow-UAB All-Time Women's Coach: Leon Barmore-LA. Tech All-Time Women's Player: Anne Donovan, ODU All-Time Men's Player : Cedric Maxwell- Charlotte.