Larry Pinkard Named to CFPA Wide Receiver Watch List

May 14, 2012
By ODU Athletics
ODU Sports

May 14, 2012

NORFOLK, Va. -- Redshirt sophomore Larry Pinkard (Washington, D.C.) was named to the Wide Receiver Watch List by the College Football Performance Awards.

The purpose of the College Football Performance Awards is to provide the most scientifically rigorous conferments in college football. Recipients are selected exclusively based upon objective scientific rankings of the extent to which individual players increase the overall effectiveness of their teams.

Appearing in all 13 games and starting the final seven games of the season, Pinkard made 37 catches for 488 yards and a team-leading nine touchdowns to help the Monarchs become the top scoring offense in the Colonial Athletic Association (CAA) and fifth nationally. His nine touchdowns were not only the most among all conference wide receivers, but ranked him tied for ninth in the league in scoring.

Pinkard posted a season-high 94 yards and two touchdowns on six catches against #9/10 James Madison, ODU's first win over a top-10 program. He also registered a pair of touchdowns on three catches for 64 yards against then-#20 UMass giving the Monarchs their first CAA victory and had a pair of scores as well on both his receptions at Rhode Island.

The rising redshirt sophomore also had touchdown receptions in both playoff games featuring Norfolk State in the first round and #3/2 Georgia Southern in the second round, as well as against Richmond.

As the 2012 season approaches, College Football Performance Awards will be releasing a preseason watch list each week from now until pre-season. For more information on the College Football Performance Awards, click here.

2012 CFPA Wide Receiver Watch List
• G'Alonzo Milton, Alabama A&M
• Devin Stark, Austin Peay
• Jordan Harris, Bryant
• Jesse Grandy, Central Arkansas
• Nathan Perera, Charleston Southern
• Kurt Ondash, Cornell
• Luke Tasker, Cornell
• Lanny Funsten, Davidson
• Nihja White, Delaware
• Chris Wright, Eastern Illinois
• Nicholas Edwards, Eastern Washington
• Greg Herd, Eastern Washington
• Aaron Mellette (Elon)
• Albert Wilson, Georgia State
• Gerald Mistretta, Holy Cross
• Rodrick Rumble, Idaho State
• Tyrone Walker, Illinois State
• Rico Richardson, Jackson State
• Alan Bonner, Jacksonville State
• Mark Ross, Lafayette
• Ryan Spadola, Lehigh
• Donte Sawyer, Morehead State
• R.J. Harris, New Hampshire
• Xavier Boyce, Norfolk State
• Ryan Smith, North Dakota State
• Jace Davis, Northern Colorado
• Dominic Gunn, Northern Colorado
Larry Pinkard, Old Dominion
• Justin Monahan, Portland State
• Spencer Nelson, Prairie View A&M
• Richard Sincere (Sam Houston State)
• Kelsey Pope, Samford
• Will Powell, South Dakota
• Aaron Rollin, South Dakota State
• Gralyn Crawford, Stephen F. Austin
• Cordell Roberson, Stephen F. Austin
• Quentin Sims, UT-Martin
• Norman White, Villanova
• Shaydon Kehano, Weber State