Monarch Wrestlers Fall in Second Round of NCAA Championships

March 17, 2011
By ODU Athletics
ODU Sports

March 17, 2011

Photo Gallery

Session II BracketsGet Acrobat Reader

PHILADELPHIA, Pa. - James Nicholson and Kyle Hutter both won their first round match but lost their second round match to move into the wrestleback round tomorrow morning.

Nicholson started strong with a second period pin over Cal State Bakersfield's Tyler Iwamura in the first round.

Nicholson started the match quickly with a takedown and two-point nearfall before Iwamura escaped. Nicholson was able to get another takedown before the end of the period to take a 6-1 lead. Iwamura escaped to start period two but Nicholson countered with a takedown and was able get Iwamura on his back for the pin.

Nicholson faced No. 13 Ben Kjar of Utah Valley in the second round. After a scoreless first period that saw Nicholson get close on a couple of takedowns, Nicholson started the second period with an escape to take a 1-0 lead. Kjar followed with a takedown after a scramble to take a 2-1 lead and kept Nicholson down the rest of the period. The third period began neutral, with Nicholson taking several shots, but Kjar wrestling very defensive, getting called for stalling once, but Nicholson was unable to get a takedown.

Nicholson faces No. 10 Alan Waters of Missouri tomorrow at 10:30 a.m.

Hutter defeated Michigan's Zac Stevens in the first round 3-1 in sudden victory. Each wrestler grabbed an escape in regulation, with Hutter powering down Stevens 20 seconds into the extra time to pick up the win.

Hutter was never able to get anything going against Hofstra's Lou Ruggirello, falling 5-1. Ruggirello made a first period takedown stand, adding a third period two-point nearfall and a riding time point for the win.

Hutter faces Missouri's Nathan McCormick tomorrow morning.

Joey Metzler dropped a 10-2 major decision to No. 3 seed Kevin LeValley of Bucknell in his first match of the day. In his second match of the day, Metzler lost by fall in the first period to Wyoming's Cole Dallaserra.

The matches start tomorrow at 10:30 a.m., stay tuned to for all the live updates.

First Round
125 - No. 4 James Nicholson (ODU) Fall Tyler Iwamura (CSUB) 3:49
133 - No. 12 Kyle Hutter (ODU) SV No. 19 Zac Stevens (Michigan) 3-1
149 - No. 3 Kevin LeValley (BUCK) MD Joey Metzler (ODU) 10-2

Second Round
125 - No. 13 Ben Kjar (UVSU) dec. No. 4 James Nicholson (ODU) 2-1
133 - No. 5 Lou Rugirello (HU) dec. No. 12 Kyle Hutter (ODU) 5-1

149 - No. 19 Cole Dallaserra (Wyoming) Fall Joey Metzler (ODU) 1:55