Anne Donovan
Anne Donovan
ODU Athletics

Anne Donovan Inducted into the 2015 FIBA Hall of Fame

September 22, 2015
By ODU Athletics

NORFOLK, Va. – Old Dominion women's basketball former standout Anne Donovan was inducted into the 2015 FIBA Hall of Fame on Sept. 19 in France, marking her seventh career Hall of Fame induction.

Donovan joined Michael Jordan in the 2015 inductee class, which also included Antoine Rigaudeau of France, Lithuania's Sarunas Marciulionis, Vladimir Tkachenko of Russia/Ukraine, Cuba's Ruperto Herrera Tabio and legendary coach Jan Stirling of Australia. Noah Klieger of Isreal, a major contributor to the game of basketball, and technical official Robert Blanchard of France were also inducted.

The six players and coach combined for 13 Olympic medals and seven appearances on the podium at FIBA's world competitions.

A dominant figure in college basketball, Donovan was a standout player for the Lady Monarchs. She carried ODU to a 37-1 winning record and the AIAW Championship in her freshman year, while leading the team to the Final Four in 1983. During her collegiate career, Donovan was named a two-time CoSIDA Academic All-American and a seven-time All-American. During ODU’s first two years in the Sun Belt, Donovan earned all-conference honors and was named the Conference MVP on two occasions.

In 1983 Donovan earned the distinction of becoming the first ever female winner of the Naismith College Player of the Year award and earned the Honda Sports Award for basketball. She was given the program's only post-graduate scholarship and left ODU as the leading scorer (2,719) and rebounder (1,976) and still holds both records 29 years later.

Following graduation, Donovan played in the 1993 FIBA Women’s World Championships in Sao Paulo and led her team to a second place finish. The following year, she won an Olympic gold medal in Los Angeles and in 1988 she became a double Olympic champion with a gold medal in Seoul, South Korea.

She has been a long-serving leader in the WNBA and has coached five different WNBA teams including the Indiana Fever, Charlotte Sting, Seattle Storm, New York Liberty and is currently the head coach of the Connecticut Sun. 

Despite no longer playing basketball, there have been several individual accolades for her past efforts on the court. She was inducted into the ODU Athletics Hall of Fame in 1988, the CoSIDA Academic All-American Hall of Fame in 1994 and then into the Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame a year later.

She also joined the Virginia Sports Hall of Fame in 1996 and then the Women's Basketball Hall of Fame in 1999. Donovan was also inducted into the New Jersey Sportswriters Association Hall of Fame in 2000, while in 2009 she was named to the Hampton Roads Sports Hall of Fame.

In 2004, she was honored by the Sun Belt Conference as its All-Time Women's basketball Player and received the NCAA 25 Year Award in 2008.

Donovan and the eight other inductees were honored during a ceremony at the Theater of Hotel Casino Barriere in the French city of Lille and were presented during halftime of the EuroBasket 2015 Final.

2015 FIBA Hall of Fame Inductees
Anne Donovan (USA)
Michael Jordan (USA)
Ruperto Herrera Tabio (Cuba)
Sarunas Marciulionis (Lithuania)
Antoine Rigaudeau (France)
Vladimir Tkachenko (Russia/Ukraine) 

Jan Stirling (Australia) 

Robert Blanchard (France)

Noah Klieger (Israel)

About the FIBA Hall of Fame
The primary goal of the FIBA Hall of Fame ( is to reflect the history of the sport and its personalities. The key criterion for selection into the FIBA Hall of Fame is outstanding achievement at the international level and contribution to the development of basketball. The FIBA Hall of Fame was officially inaugurated in March of 2007.

MORE IN Women's Basketball


Liberty Tax
Women's Basketball Postgame Press Conference vs. MTSU
HIGHLIGHTS: Monarchs Top MTSU For Big C-USA Win
HIGHLIGHTS: Monarchs Drop Hard-Fought Battle to UAB